Results 1 to 3 of 3

LT1 Motor Questions??????

This is a discussion on LT1 Motor Questions?????? within the LT1 forums, part of the Vehicle Specific category; I have a 1995 Trans am with a LT1 motor that just when't bad.....I found a good deal on a ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    AUSTIN
    Posts
    33

    GREEN
    1994 FIREHAWK

    LT1 Motor Questions??????

    I have a 1995 Trans am with a LT1 motor that just when't bad.....I found a good deal on a 1996 LT1 LONGBLOCK but I notice that the 1996 Has a CRANK SENSOR IN THE FRONT AND MY DOSE NOT HAVE ONE.

    Question # 1. Will it work in my car with out pluging the crank sensor if I use all my original wiring harness?

    Question # 2. Do I need a wiring harness from a 1996 or 1997?

    If someone know the answare to this please PM-me and let me know before
    I install this motor...........thank you

  2. #2
    Member Chad97z's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Dallas / Irving
    Posts
    396
    if I was guessing, I would say you don't need to plug in the crank sensor as long as you use your original harness. The crank sensor provides the newer cars with some additional data for certain algorithms in the ecm to determine if the car is missing or not. Like, I think the crank sensor can measure the acceleration of the crank. So if it doesn't accelerate at a certain point, then through some other checks and sensors it may determine that a particular cylinder is not firing, and then set a code. You have to realize that a computer can not tell if your car has a rough idle - it doesn't feel it. So, it has to rely upon sensors to see if it is running properly. The only other question to ask yourself would be, "does the ecm need to know where the crank is positioned in order to fire at the right time. I just woke up and without really thinking about it, I would say "no". The ecm rely's on other methods for determining when the #1 cyl is at TDC. All of this has to do with more about the construction of the motor rather than a sensor I beleive. Like the position of the optispark during installation and cam position and all that blah blah stuff. So I think if you put that motor in your car, it would be just a feature that your system doesn't use or need. But if you installed another wiring harness and ecm, and did not connect the sensor, then ya, you're going to throw a code.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    AUSTIN
    Posts
    33

    GREEN
    1994 FIREHAWK

    Thank you........for all that info.........I will try it with my original wiring harness.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. LS motor intakes and questions
    By barteec in forum External Engine
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-12-2008, 04:17 PM
  2. 488 stroker motor questions
    By ttocs in forum General Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-21-2006, 01:33 PM
  3. motor questions
    By c5andtyphoon in forum Corvette
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-20-2006, 06:01 AM
  4. Questions concerning Z06 motor
    By thochrun71 in forum Corvette
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 09-18-2005, 08:26 AM
  5. Questions concerning a motor swap
    By thochrun71 in forum General Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-15-2005, 06:44 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •