Results 1 to 6 of 6

L 98 to Lt1?

This is a discussion on L 98 to Lt1? within the LT1 forums, part of the Vehicle Specific category; Will the LT1 work in my c4 Corvette in place of my L 98 with relative ease? What should I ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    las Vegas
    Posts
    4

    L 98 to Lt1?

    Will the LT1 work in my c4 Corvette in place of my L 98 with relative ease? What should I expect to encounter?Help.Joej

  2. #2
    Powerstrokin LT1 > LS1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Aurora IL
    Posts
    1,264

    Trans Am owner
    former

    by l98, you mean the TPI motor right?


    well, they are the same block, and the motor mounts should work fine, but the LT1 runs off the optispark. you will probly need the LT1 computer....


    honestly, I would probly save the time, and money, and just get a regular carb'd 350. you can ditch TONS of wiring, and computers, and make much more power much more easily.

  3. #3
    LTX N20LT4's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Cali
    Posts
    2,006
    10's N/A

    Quote Originally Posted by LT1 > LS1 View Post
    by l98, you mean the TPI motor right?


    well, they are the same block, and the motor mounts should work fine, but the LT1 runs off the optispark. you will probly need the LT1 computer....


    honestly, I would probly save the time, and money, and just get a regular carb'd 350. you can ditch TONS of wiring, and computers, and make much more power much more easily.
    Makes a lot of sense Nitro, definitely will save tons of money going that route. Only problem is...he won't pass smog in Nevada with that carb'd 350.

  4. #4
    Senior Member bigrondownhiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Orange County, NY
    Age
    42
    Posts
    2,674

    Black
    1996 Camaro Z28 vert

    What are you looking for, more power, newer engine? The l98 has tons of parts available to make it better. Plus then when someone looks it is just another vette.

  5. #5
    Powerstrokin LT1 > LS1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Aurora IL
    Posts
    1,264

    Trans Am owner
    former

    in the y-pipe, clamp in a sectin of stright pipe, and when its time to do emissions, weld like 2 old catylitic converters together, and temporarily clamp em in.



    that shoud scrub a lot of the junk off, but I dont know if it'll get past the sniffer.....

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    las Vegas
    Posts
    4

    C4

    Thanks for the reply's guys.Funny thing is it doesnt run bad at all! Just going on what the mechanic says.50% in all cylinders sounds like it should be significant but when I drive it regularly around town I dont notice much performance drop but maybe Ive gotten used to it and dont really know the power capabilities of this machine.Maybe I should just rebuild the engine thats in it.Price wise I thought it would be easier just to throw a used LT 1 in there and get more horses at the same time.Maybe TPIS would have something to offer. Your thoughts please?joej

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •