Results 1 to 19 of 19

How to tune an LT1?

This is a discussion on How to tune an LT1? within the LT1 forums, part of the Vehicle Specific category; I have a 96 with the OBDII LT1 M6. What are you guys using to tune with? I cant find ...

  1. #1
    Rice Killa JwMonE99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Myrtle Beach
    Age
    27
    Posts
    5,561

    Black With T-Tops
    96 Z28 M6

    How to tune an LT1?

    I have a 96 with the OBDII LT1 M6.
    What are you guys using to tune with? I cant find nothing, unless I go with a stand alone but the more I get into it, its becoming a hassle.
    Right now I want something that can tune my bolt ons and a few other minor things I got.
    I am building a 383 stroker which I will swap with when I am done and after the swap I will be spraying it.
    So I need somthing that I would be able to switch out between a n/a tune and a nitrous tune.
    Please someone find me somthing.

  2. #2

  3. #3
    Senior Member Sleeper101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Springcity
    Posts
    1,152

    Red
    Vette,240sx,ls1 camaro

    My local Dyno guys have a Program from Gm that you have to buy. Which is about 500$ Ill try and get the name of it. But thats the latest and greatest for the Lt1's. It doesnt look like there is much out there offered. Im kinda going threw the same problem.

  4. #4
    Rice Killa JwMonE99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Myrtle Beach
    Age
    27
    Posts
    5,561

    Black With T-Tops
    96 Z28 M6

    Im thinking about going with an apexi neo
    Its a piggy back, anyone ever use it?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    york pa
    Posts
    125

    white
    96 ws6

    Do u need a laptop 4 that gm program?

  6. #6
    Rice Killa JwMonE99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Myrtle Beach
    Age
    27
    Posts
    5,561

    Black With T-Tops
    96 Z28 M6

    bump for the apexi.

  7. #7
    Senior Member 5.0THIS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    3,704

    red
    95 Z28

    BS3, LT1 edit, etc etc. Never heard of any domestic V8 guys going with apexi

  8. #8
    Senior Member Sleeper101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Springcity
    Posts
    1,152

    Red
    Vette,240sx,ls1 camaro

    I used a Apexi SAFCII as a Piggy back on the 240, It is Def tunable, But you better have a Wideband 02 inorder to fine tune it.

  9. #9
    12.36@109 Red on Red WS6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Tulsa OK
    Age
    38
    Posts
    454

    Red
    1996 Trans Am

    I been using Tunercat for years. Its a laptop based full tuner program, I believe it cost me about $349. I know he sold it to Jet and not sure what there pricing is now. I like it because I can tune as many cars as I want without having to pay extra license fee.

  10. #10
    Rice Killa JwMonE99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Myrtle Beach
    Age
    27
    Posts
    5,561

    Black With T-Tops
    96 Z28 M6

    Quote Originally Posted by Sleeper101 View Post
    I used a Apexi SAFCII as a Piggy back on the 240, It is Def tunable, But you better have a Wideband 02 inorder to fine tune it.
    Yea I am getting an apexi SAFC 2 as well, or (ZT2) and probably going to get a zietronix wideband.
    I can get the Apexi for $100 so cant complain.
    Later on I will do a megasquirt stand alone.

  11. #11
    Member since 2001
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    South NJ/Rotondo West Fl.
    Age
    40
    Posts
    46

    Pewter
    LT1 Edit...just get a mail order...Lt1 tunes are pretty basic.

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Metro Detroit, MI
    Age
    26
    Posts
    31

    Black
    1999 Blazer LS 2DR

    Do you need a carbureted LT1 to do megasquirt? How does it work? I cant find much information on it.

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Metro Detroit, MI
    Age
    26
    Posts
    31

    Black
    1999 Blazer LS 2DR

    like i mean do you use the stock intake or do you have to go carbureted?

  14. #14
    Rice Killa JwMonE99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Myrtle Beach
    Age
    27
    Posts
    5,561

    Black With T-Tops
    96 Z28 M6

    No carb, im keeping it EFI.
    I decided to go ahead and go with the megasquirt.

  15. #15
    Senior Member Sleeper101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Springcity
    Posts
    1,152

    Red
    Vette,240sx,ls1 camaro

    Go to diyautotune.com and find out all the information on megasquirt you need. ALso Ms extra has alot of info.

  16. #16
    Rice Killa JwMonE99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Myrtle Beach
    Age
    27
    Posts
    5,561

    Black With T-Tops
    96 Z28 M6

    Yea im already set with MS. I want to delete my opti while im at it haha.

  17. #17
    Senior Member Sleeper101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Springcity
    Posts
    1,152

    Red
    Vette,240sx,ls1 camaro

    You will want to go with a ls2 truck coil which has a built in ignitor. Those coils are sweet and put out some spark!! They pone a ls1 coil like a Honda lol.

    But usually you can find them on ebay used cheap. I got my set of 8 for 91$ Used.

    Im sure you are going to need a 36-1 crank wheel and also a vr sensor, Im using a vr sensor off a 99 ford escort zx2.

    You will be doing a wasted spark setup in a direct driven coil.

    If you have questions diy can answer or Ill try to I got some experience.

  18. #18
    Rice Killa JwMonE99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Myrtle Beach
    Age
    27
    Posts
    5,561

    Black With T-Tops
    96 Z28 M6

    Quote Originally Posted by Sleeper101 View Post
    You will want to go with a ls2 truck coil which has a built in ignitor. Those coils are sweet and put out some spark!! They pone a ls1 coil like a Honda lol.

    But usually you can find them on ebay used cheap. I got my set of 8 for 91$ Used.

    Im sure you are going to need a 36-1 crank wheel and also a vr sensor, Im using a vr sensor off a 99 ford escort zx2.

    You will be doing a wasted spark setup in a direct driven coil.

    If you have questions diy can answer or Ill try to I got some experience.
    Thnaks man I will keep that in mind, I am hoping to do all this very soon.
    Did you go with a innovate wideband?

  19. #19
    Senior Member Sleeper101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Springcity
    Posts
    1,152

    Red
    Vette,240sx,ls1 camaro

    Yup Innovate is wat I have been running for a few yrs now. I like it. Very accurate.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Custom tune, HP tuners, or PCMFORLESS TUNE
    By cancam99ss in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 09-29-2012, 10:09 PM
  2. Question: Frost tune or Dyno tune?
    By 90ARAPAJ in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-15-2012, 01:38 PM
  3. hypertech tune erase my dyno tune?
    By Z28LS1 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-02-2009, 07:31 PM
  4. whats the diff with a full dyno tune and a street tune?
    By Justin23454 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-04-2007, 07:31 AM
  5. Handheld Tune?shop Tune? software running on my laptop tune?on my SS
    By showtimesteele99SS in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-09-2007, 06:31 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •