Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

How hard is is to swap out a lt1 for ls1??

This is a discussion on How hard is is to swap out a lt1 for ls1?? within the LT1 forums, part of the Vehicle Specific category; Hey everyone, I have a question for you all. I have a 1995 Trans am with A4. My buddy has ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member Goatdude805's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Fillmore California
    Posts
    22

    torid red
    2004 gto

    How hard is is to swap out a lt1 for ls1??

    Hey everyone, I have a question for you all. I have a 1995 Trans am with A4. My buddy has a LS1 motor that came out of a 02 trans am.. Im wanting to swap out my lt1 for the ls1.. How hard is it to due.. Motor comes complete with cpu, harness and all.. Will it be a streight swap, or would i need to due any mods to get the ls1 in??? Im hoping you guys can help.. Or should I just build up the LT1 what do you think???

  2. #2
    Senior Member Zboner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    cincinnati/northern ky
    Age
    31
    Posts
    9,045

    Black
    99 SS

    IMO build up the LT1, the swap will be tough, your going to need to swap the wiring harness also not just the engine, totally different system.

  3. #3
    Junior Member Goatdude805's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Fillmore California
    Posts
    22

    torid red
    2004 gto

    Yeah thats coming along with the motor.. would it be a problem switching to the ls1 harness.. ? I mean its a complete system...

  4. #4
    Rice Killa JwMonE99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Myrtle Beach
    Age
    27
    Posts
    5,561

    Black With T-Tops
    96 Z28 M6

    I have always been wondering the same thing, its hard to get a straight answer sometimes lol. Lets say there is no option and you absolutely have to swap an LT1 with an LS1 what needs to be done? Lets try not to get answers like "better off building the LT1 or better off buying one with an LS1" is it easier then swaping with a V6 or is it about the same work?

  5. #5
    Senior Member Zboner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    cincinnati/northern ky
    Age
    31
    Posts
    9,045

    Black
    99 SS

    Quote Originally Posted by Goatdude805 View Post
    Yeah thats coming along with the motor.. would it be a problem switching to the ls1 harness.. ? I mean its a complete system...

    not sure never done a swap but i do not see an issue with it, being my friend put an LS1 into an 88 GTA

  6. #6
    Member Chad97z's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Dallas / Irving
    Posts
    396
    I would think a 97 would be an easier swap than a 96 or older. The 97's got day time running lights and the alarm and the ls1 cluster and inside brain box.. and all that. So maybe more of the harness is like the LS1. However, I'm sure most of the engine hook ups are different.. I don't think it would be that hard though. Just start doing little by little. It can be done. How hard it is irrelevant in my opinion. Its just a matter of getting the harness and the PCM. And if you already have a 97 then you have the cluster and all that too.

  7. #7
    live fast, die young.
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    santa ana
    Age
    31
    Posts
    141

    metallic blue
    1969 camaro

    you would need new motor mounts too

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    ag town
    Age
    35
    Posts
    35

    pewter
    2000 ta

    well from what i have heard from someone who has done if it was not worth it you have to change rack and pinion and k-member but since you have everthing i would say go for it you will get a lot more power out of it and in the long run i think you will be happy with your results you have everthing any way so get ur done good luck

  9. #9
    Senior Member 440 rwhp trans am's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    houston, tx
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,045

    red ta orange gto
    97 trans am 06 gto

    i have seen people do it. they had to fab some stuff up and rewire but from what little i know about it, it is not too hard. get the 98+ k-member and that will save you a lot of time.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    LA
    Age
    37
    Posts
    568

    Grey
    2010 Camaro 2SS/RS CGM

    Quote Originally Posted by birdmanta View Post
    well from what i have heard from someone who has done if it was not worth it you have to change rack and pinion and k-member but since you have everthing i would say go for it you will get a lot more power out of it and in the long run i think you will be happy with your results you have everthing any way so get ur done good luck
    when i had the performance shop working on my car to fix my opti i asked about swapping out an LS2 and the owner said it bolted right up, so i can imagine an ls1 would be easier.

  11. #11
    Junior Member Goatdude805's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Fillmore California
    Posts
    22

    torid red
    2004 gto

    Thanks guys for all your input.. Lets keep it coming, its getting me closer to do what i have to do....

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    266

    green
    94 z28

    Quote Originally Posted by ls1bandit View Post
    when i had the performance shop working on my car to fix my opti i asked about swapping out an LS2 and the owner said it bolted right up, so i can imagine an ls1 would be easier.
    How could it be easir than just bolting right on? It throws itself into place?

  13. #13
    save the dough and just get a built lt1/4 shortblock or stroker

  14. #14
    Rice Killa JwMonE99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Myrtle Beach
    Age
    27
    Posts
    5,561

    Black With T-Tops
    96 Z28 M6

    Look into the LE1 kits, I forgot what it stands for...

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    long island NY
    Posts
    8
    lt1 powerd c10

    im in the process of puttinga 2002 vette ls1 in a 1957 bel air . as long as you have the right tools you can do anything. but if you have to ask if its hard or easy than your not knowlegeable enuff to do the job.

  16. #16
    Rice Killa JwMonE99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Myrtle Beach
    Age
    27
    Posts
    5,561

    Black With T-Tops
    96 Z28 M6

    Yea thats easier tho, but ur right. With the right tools anything can be done.

  17. #17
    LTX N20LT4's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Cali
    Posts
    2,006
    10's N/A

    Quote Originally Posted by JwMonE99 View Post
    Look into the LE1 kits, I forgot what it stands for...
    LE stands for Lloyd Elliot, and I heard they were calling for you in the V6 forum. Nah, just joking.
    486/438
    10.68/127 N/A


  18. #18
    Rice Killa JwMonE99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Myrtle Beach
    Age
    27
    Posts
    5,561

    Black With T-Tops
    96 Z28 M6

    Quote Originally Posted by N20LT4 View Post
    LE stands for Lloyd Elliot, and I heard they were calling for you in the V6 forum. Nah, just joking.
    lol very funny. Where have you been? Rumors have it you been posting up a lot lately on some civic forum

  19. #19
    LTX N20LT4's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Cali
    Posts
    2,006
    10's N/A

    Quote Originally Posted by JwMonE99 View Post
    lol very funny. Where have you been? Rumors have it you been posting up a lot lately on some civic forum
    That's a good one, really. Seriously though, i've been busy putting an LT1/M6 in a my latest f-body - Polo Green '94 Z. Not really a fan of the green, but I bought the car in excellent shape inside and out with no trans or motor for dirt cheap. It will be a mildly modded daily driver.

  20. #20
    Junior Member Goatdude805's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Fillmore California
    Posts
    22

    torid red
    2004 gto

    Dude,, First off. The main idea here is to get input from someone who has done the swap or knows about it... I mean a Fbody is totally different then your 57 belair.. 1. you dont need to worry about emissions., seond you did not specify wetheryou are going carb, or fuel injected. wich brings the question to wether you need new cpu unit, wiring harness, air pumps for smog regulations, different k member, motor mounts,, I mean any one could just rip out a motor from a car and get one in with "the right tools" Its about doing it right, and making it work.. for what its intended for.... Sometimes You have to think outside the box.....BRO!!!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question: V6 to V8 swap? Is it hard?
    By hpglow in forum Camaro / SS
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 06-11-2009, 11:50 AM
  2. Question: How hard is it to swap to an LS2?
    By bdg7884 in forum General Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-15-2008, 06:03 PM
  3. Radiator swap.. is it hard to do???
    By blackTA6585 in forum External Engine
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-17-2007, 09:56 PM
  4. how hard is a th400 swap
    By crawdad369 in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-24-2007, 08:10 PM
  5. Ls1 Swap Into My Lt1 How Hard?
    By camaro_ss_97_ in forum LT1
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-03-2006, 10:21 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •