Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Black
    1996 camaro Z28

College budget LT1 engine rebuilt

Hey im new to this.. im a college student at UCR... my car die like two weeks ago and now its in a shop in san bernandino.. i thiink that the timing chain broke but since my car has 152,XXX miles on it and had been giving me some trooble.. im rebuilding the engine... i dont come from a rich fam... i work to pay my rent and all my expenses... i have some money to rebuilt the engine and want to do some upgrades... what would u guys recommend... im thinking of the lt4 cam kit and lt4 chain since i want to add a lil of nos in the future.. ( like after grad. cant affort another engine so soon),,, ahh and want some upgrades that are worth the $$$ .. the engine rebuilt its 1800 with 4 yr or 75,000 miles... so thats good.. ill need those miles since its my daily driver... please reply... i want the best package for my car... im not expecting 400HP right now its pretty much stock... so any suggestions its greatly appreciated... thank u guys..

red
    95 Z28

If you do a cam, ported heads will always help.... In order for even the cam to do you alot of good, you'll need to have the basic bolt ons, such as cold air intake, headers, and full exhaust. You'll also need PCM dyno tuning with the cam as well.

Black
    1996 camaro Z28

Yeah i wanted to do some head work ... the guy told me he would port and polish the heads for 275 dollars.. which i think its really good... but then i made some research and saw that the stock flow of the heads its pretty good... so their may not be a need to port the heads... adn i might do that later once im a grad... if i decide to do the hot cams kit... would i have to dyno tune... or would a a hypertehc programing do? i would love to have headers on but they will have to hold for at least another three months.. i wanted to have a solid base for when the other bolt-ons came in...

Black
    1996 camaro Z28