Results 1 to 7 of 7

02 issue

This is a discussion on 02 issue within the LT1 forums, part of the Vehicle Specific category; bank2 sensor1 Did a resistance test between the pcm and the 02 and found the wires to be intact. The ...

  1. #1
    Driving as fast as I can dafaic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Waxahachie, TX
    Age
    37
    Posts
    170

    Silver
    97 TA M6

    02 issue

    bank2 sensor1

    Did a resistance test between the pcm and the 02 and found the wires to be intact. The extension harnes showed a little more resistance on 2 wires than the rest of the wires. Also noted with key on '0' voltage on purpble wire which is pinout C8 on grey pcm plug. Thanks for the help.
    Click for full size
    lt4 hot cam, l.e. heads, gold 1.6rr, hooker lts, 3"ypipe, hookercatback, no cats, subframes, b&m ripper, k&n cai, msd6a-coil-opti, udp, tr55 g's, ta girdle, 4.10's, boxed control arms, Madz28 tune, specstg3, alum. elbow. No traction

  2. #2
    Driving as fast as I can dafaic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Waxahachie, TX
    Age
    37
    Posts
    170

    Silver
    97 TA M6

    UPDATE...

    I have the sensor unplugged and been checking resistance between the pcm and the first plug. I did some more testing and with the propes solidly placed I showed 0 to .1 resistance on an auto multi-meter. If i probed and let it sit there without touching anything it would sit on 0 hit a wire or move it a little and it would jump to .1 same went for the extension. I re-checked voltage using the meter with the correct setting. I just bought the meter and have really never done anything like this before. I put the ground of the meter in the ground of the plug and tested each of the plugs pins. The The tan read 1.5v, the purple .8v, and the brown/pink is full voltage. I plugged the extension in and tested it the same way and it reads the exact same. The O2 sensors are brand new...

    http://www.iequus.com/product_info....ategory_id=1_60

    that is the meter i bought

    i tested the plug between the tan and purple with key on and it had .668v

  3. #3
    Member Chad97z's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Dallas / Irving
    Posts
    396
    I couldnt get past your first comment because if you want to check if a wire is "in tact" from one end to another, then you should check for Continuity, not resistance. If there is an open in the wire then the meter could likely show 0 ohms. If the wire is not broken, then the resistance will be 0 ohms. So you didn't really accomplish anything there. But, you got all that stuff on your car too. Its not factory anymore. Hotcam, headers probably a custom tune.. hard to say.

    Tray swapping the 02's from left to right and see if your error code also changes. If it does, then you got a bad 02 sensor.

  4. #4
    Driving as fast as I can dafaic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Waxahachie, TX
    Age
    37
    Posts
    170

    Silver
    97 TA M6

    my meter is an auto meter if there was an open it would not have cycled through it's options as to what to show me the resistance in what decimal point...Does that make sense? Plus if you bump the wire it will jump to .1 and then back down or if you take one of the propes out it changes to 3 decimal points. If you lightly touch the wire it shows a large resisatnce cuase it's not getting a good connection. But i figured if the meter didn;t cycle when plugged in then i knew where the proble was.

    I had this problem before the new sensors were installed..

    if you still feel like i should sawp the sensors let me know.

  5. #5
    Member Chad97z's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Dallas / Irving
    Posts
    396
    troubleshoot anyway you can think of to isolate the problem. Thats what I do

  6. #6
    Driving as fast as I can dafaic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Waxahachie, TX
    Age
    37
    Posts
    170

    Silver
    97 TA M6

    checked continuity as you said. purple and tan beeped all the way from pcm pin to end of extension. black and brown beeped through extension. will put car back together & swap o2's, delete code and try again. Thanks...

  7. #7
    Driving as fast as I can dafaic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Waxahachie, TX
    Age
    37
    Posts
    170

    Silver
    97 TA M6

    Swapped bank1/bank2 sensors. Well still have the code p0154...Any ideas?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. idle issue.. may be tune issue.. help?
    By okiels1 in forum General Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-07-2016, 03:17 PM
  2. pvc issue... vacuum leak....tune issue?
    By okiels1 in forum General Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-05-2016, 10:10 AM
  3. will there be an issue?
    By Ws6islife in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-01-2011, 03:25 PM
  4. Help: tranny issue think it might be planetary issue
    By nerisls1 in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-05-2009, 10:32 PM
  5. Anyone else had this issue?
    By conny9784 in forum GTO
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-27-2007, 06:03 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •