Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Exclamation Ws6 vs Camaro SS some advice please

Ok im working a shity job to save up some money for a down payment type thing. My mom wants me to have money in the bank before i take a loan to buy a car. I have a 95 bird v6 3.4 now and i love it but its an auto and i want a ws6 or a v8 ss camaro... i want to know which one is better, im talking speed. i am thinking of takeing a 10k-12k loan plus ill have like 3k in the bank. ive seen trans an chevys on ebay and autotraders in that price range. I am new to cars in a sense and i would like some help geting started (im not a complete noob) i want a stock so i can add mods myself and learn as i go... well sry for this lonnng thread but some advice on the SS or ws6 would be good and do you think its a good idea for a 16yr old (probally 17 when i buy it) to take a loan... i mean is it worth the payments?

White
    1999 Trans Am WS6

As far as speed goes, stock for stock, the SS and WS6 are identical. At least in 98-02 years, and if you're looking at spending at least 10k you shouldn't look for anything older than that unless it's hardly ever been driven. As far as which one is better overall, well that's pretty much a matter of opinion. The SS was originally priced a tad lower than the WS6, but I'm biased on the Pontiac side just because most years I've liked the look of them better. On 4th gens I love both of them, I'm just more of a sucker for the Firebird, that's all. Pick whichever one you like best.

For 10-12k you should be able to find one in decent shape with relatively low miles. I think it's great that you want to do the mods yourself and learn as you go, I personally feel that's the best way to go. Plus you'll take a lot more pride in the work, knowing it's your own vehicle.