Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Silver
    2000 Trans Am

What kind of oil?

Since I am new to owning a Trans Am I thought I would ask the opinion of some of you guys. What are you running in your cars? I am going to run a full synthetic but what are some good options? Some people recommended royal purple. Thoughts? Is that a lot better than mobil one? Thanks, Sid.

SILVER
    2000 Z/28

I run penzoil platinum 5-30 oil and a Mobil1 oil filter. Amsoil products are also very good probly one of the best. There are some threads on here that get pretty in-depth on oils and filters. When you read them you will notice Royal Purple is not talked about to highly of.
    Lt's,SFC,3,600 Fuddle stall,Spohn Adj. tunnel mount torque arm, BMR LCA,Ls6 intake,Air lid,Under drive pulley,S60 rear,Frost tune and a few more things I cant remember.

04 Cobra 'vert - M6 mysti
    02 WS6 coupe - A4 red

Do a quick search before Sarge or someone else tells you about all the other threads on this one. There's some good ones out there...

Oh wait, 5150 already said that...

And I use Mobil-1 oil and filters.

On your ass flashing
    my highbeams

Silver 2002 WS.6
    Red 1989 Formula

Penzoil Platinum and K&N filter here on the 98 and the 02

Black
    2002 Z/28

Quote Originally Posted by c5z28 View Post
    LMAO!!
    Ill break it down for you Beck! Sarge has done his home work thru the years and this is what he suggests (he is the ultimate oil guru)...

1. Amsoil
    2. Castrol SynTec
    3. Red Line
    4. Mobil 1
    5. Pennzoil Platinum

Top 5 Dino Oils
    1. Valvoline
    2. Castrol GTX
    3. Pennzoil
    4. Havoline
    5. Chevron

Filters.....
    1. Mobil 1
    2. Amsoil
    3. KN
    4. NAPA Gold
    5. Purolator

Btw that list comes from page 5 post # 89 from the link C5z28 posted. Just incase you wanted to know!
    Last edited by prater_1; 03-10-2011 at 10:19 PM.

Black/Screaming Yellow
    99 S/C TA WS6 & 04 Cobra