Results 1 to 14 of 14

Tune?

This is a discussion on Tune? within the Firebird / WS6 forums, part of the Vehicle Specific category; I have an aftermarket hood with the ram air box ( I purchased it like that) and my car runs ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    mn
    Posts
    36

    White
    1998 trans am

    Tune?

    I have an aftermarket hood with the ram air box ( I purchased it like that) and my car runs kind of slow 0-60 in 6.8-6.9 should I get a tune or are their other possiblilites?

  2. #2
    Senior Member Redphoenix1998's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Jose
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,897

    Red
    1998 Pontiac Trans Am

    Any other mods, or is it a stocker? Plus, do you still ahve the baffles in the ram air hood or did you take them out

  3. #3
    member since may 2000 nhraformula's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    n/w chicago
    Age
    47
    Posts
    6,933

    black
    2000 nhra edition formula

    Quote Originally Posted by mattycakes98TA View Post
    I have an aftermarket hood with the ram air box ( I purchased it like that) and my car runs kind of slow 0-60 in 6.8-6.9 should I get a tune or are their other possiblilites?
    take it to a track and post youre times.
    thats about the only true way to see if youre car isnt running correct.
    2000 nhra edition formula
    a few bolt ons, 379 rwhp
    11.96 @113.25

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    mn
    Posts
    36

    White
    1998 trans am

    it iisn't a factory ram air hood, from the snorkle hood it goes directly to the filter (no box) then it goes through the maf and so forth.

  5. #5
    Window Licker Sassy Cassie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Melbourne, FL
    Posts
    2,384
    Quote Originally Posted by nhraformula View Post
    take it to a track and post youre times.
    thats about the only true way to see if youre car isnt running correct.
    ... or get a baseline dyno.

  6. #6
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    I take it your using a g-tech to get your 0-60 times? Are you meticulous in setting it up correctly? Make sure it's level and centered in the car. It's easy to get bad numbers from those and I wouldn't base the sole performance of my car on it. 6.8 is a really slow 0-60 time and it would seem it's either not set up correctly or you have something else going on there.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    mn
    Posts
    36

    White
    1998 trans am

    lol...uh nono I'm using a stopwatch dude. that shoud be fairly close right??

  8. #8
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    Quote Originally Posted by mattycakes98TA View Post
    lol...uh nono I'm using a stopwatch dude. that shoud be fairly close right??
    I guess that's better than using an hour glass or sun dial.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    mn
    Posts
    36

    White
    1998 trans am

    ya but uh I'm not off by a second and a half

  10. #10
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    do you have mods? I would say it wouldn't be unheard of to be off that much trying to use a stopwatch. There's gonna be a little time difference on both ends of hitting it and you have to also wonder if you're hitting it at exactly 60 and your speedo is correct. Just a lot of room for error. Go race a mustang and if he eats you up outta the hole then the 6.8 could be correct but I doubt it. I mean 6.8 is almost minivan territory. Not busting on your car by no means. Just saying I would want something a little more accurate and if it turns out to be in the upper 6 range I would definitely start looking at what could be the problem. Does the car seem strong and does it run good?

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    mn
    Posts
    36

    White
    1998 trans am

    uh ya it seems pretty darn strong..I have a 78 trans am and it seems quite a bit quicker. not quite the same tire roasting ability the 78 has 4.11's and my 98 has the high 2 ...is it 2.73 I believe...I'm in the process of putting some bosch double plats in. she also squeaks into 2nd pretty good so idk?

  12. #12
    Drive it like its stolen gillahoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Carbondale, Pa
    Age
    42
    Posts
    109

    White
    1998 Trans Am

    i think its the hood my t/a does 0-60 in 5.5 with my stock hook i know mine will be slower but i wam willing to trade

  13. #13
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    Quote Originally Posted by gillahoon View Post
    i think its the hood my t/a does 0-60 in 5.5 with my stock hook i know mine will be slower but i wam willing to trade
    lol that's funny but mine does 0-60 in 4.2 so wouldn't my hood be better then?

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    mn
    Posts
    36

    White
    1998 trans am

    K uh were talking gear ratio's not 0-60 times guys lol

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Custom tune, HP tuners, or PCMFORLESS TUNE
    By cancam99ss in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 09-29-2012, 10:09 PM
  2. Question: Frost tune or Dyno tune?
    By 90ARAPAJ in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-15-2012, 01:38 PM
  3. hypertech tune erase my dyno tune?
    By Z28LS1 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-02-2009, 07:31 PM
  4. whats the diff with a full dyno tune and a street tune?
    By Justin23454 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-04-2007, 07:31 AM
  5. Handheld Tune?shop Tune? software running on my laptop tune?on my SS
    By showtimesteele99SS in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-09-2007, 06:31 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •