Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 43

tcs switch

This is a discussion on tcs switch within the Firebird / WS6 forums, part of the Vehicle Specific category; I own a 2000 ws6 and was wondering why my car doesnt have the traction control system switch like many ...

  1. #1
    r3d dr9n xtreme_rob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Age
    30
    Posts
    71

    Red
    2000 Trans Am WS6 m6

    tcs switch

    I own a 2000 ws6 and was wondering why my car doesnt have the traction control system switch like many others do?

    I ordered an slp tcs logic module since mine lacks the factory switch...

  2. #2
    Member Zaccagnini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Fort Myers, FL
    Posts
    121

    NBM
    02 WS6 A4 / 98 TA 408 M6

    You probably dont have TC lol.

  3. #3
    r3d dr9n xtreme_rob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Age
    30
    Posts
    71

    Red
    2000 Trans Am WS6 m6

    is there a way to tell? im the second owner... so..

  4. #4
    r3d dr9n xtreme_rob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Age
    30
    Posts
    71

    Red
    2000 Trans Am WS6 m6

    Quote Originally Posted by Zaccagnini View Post
    You probably dont have TC lol.
    is there a way to tell? im the second owner, so....

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Newport, RI
    Posts
    1,550

    Navy Blue Metallic
    '00 Formy A4

    Basically, go try and spin the tires. If you have TCS, they'll spin for a second, then it feels like the engine bogs and the gas pedal kicks back a bit.

    If they just spin uninterupted, you don't have TCS.

    I highly doubt you have TCS if there's no switch. This is a M6, right?

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    sumner
    Posts
    52

    red
    1999 Firehawk

    Is traction control a stand alone type option? For example can it be ordered with any car? Or is it come in some type of package?

  7. #7
    War Machine BIG GUNS's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    St. Louis MO.
    Age
    53
    Posts
    2,100

    Black
    00 Trans Am/Auto

    If you own a manual transmission, you don't have it. If you have an automatic, you would have it. Am I missing something here?

    Somebody correct me if I'm wrong. TCS is an option for automatic only.

  8. #8
    Member Zaccagnini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Fort Myers, FL
    Posts
    121

    NBM
    02 WS6 A4 / 98 TA 408 M6

    TCS is an option for both trannys, it doesn't come with either unless you want it, I have an a4 and don't have it.

  9. #9
    War Machine BIG GUNS's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    St. Louis MO.
    Age
    53
    Posts
    2,100

    Black
    00 Trans Am/Auto

    Okay. Thanks. I thought it was only an option for Autos. I have it and only use it in rain, snow and ice if I'm caught out driving it in that weather. Otherwise, that bitch is off!!!

  10. #10
    Member Zaccagnini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Fort Myers, FL
    Posts
    121

    NBM
    02 WS6 A4 / 98 TA 408 M6

    Florida weather ftw, until the drag radials are on in the rain. (:

  11. #11
    War Machine BIG GUNS's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    St. Louis MO.
    Age
    53
    Posts
    2,100

    Black
    00 Trans Am/Auto

    Yeah, but most of your roads down there are made of coral. You need TCS in the rain down there right?

  12. #12
    r3d dr9n xtreme_rob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Age
    30
    Posts
    71

    Red
    2000 Trans Am WS6 m6

    Quote Originally Posted by StuntmanMike View Post
    Basically, go try and spin the tires. If you have TCS, they'll spin for a second, then it feels like the engine bogs and the gas pedal kicks back a bit.

    If they just spin uninterupted, you don't have TCS.

    I highly doubt you have TCS if there's no switch. This is a M6, right?
    ya, m6, ive only taken it to the strip once and it felt like it was trying to switch back and forth between tires in the burnout box... then it would pull to one side.. didnt really get a good burnout. any advice? i just figured it was tcs, maybe just the rear differential?? new to the strip with a manny.. i'm gunna feel like an idiot if i dont have tcs.

  13. #13
    Member Zaccagnini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Fort Myers, FL
    Posts
    121

    NBM
    02 WS6 A4 / 98 TA 408 M6

    I don't have it, it's not really needed for me, but I also normally have tread on my tires.

    Also Big Guns, I dont really need it, tho I have gone sideways once on my old eagle f1s when I literally had no tread going like 35mph in the rain, but low traction came on and was braking the car for me lol.

  14. #14
    Senior Member raynor139's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Greensboro, NC
    Age
    33
    Posts
    1,319

    Pewter
    2002 Trans Am WS6 M6

    I dont have it in my M6 and dont want it either. But that is a personal opinion. Most guys who do have it tend to turn it off as soon as they get in the car. It was an option on the cars, im not sure what code would be on the door if you have it but im sure one of the guys on here could tell you what to look for.

  15. #15
    formally 01 T/A 0verkill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    San Diego ca
    Posts
    2,253

    "Arrest Me Red"
    2001 trans am

    you dont have it so the slp part you orderd isnt going to do any thing for you. it sounds like the rearend to me replace the fluid as it recomends and that may help you out. i have a m6 with it so it was an option on all of them.

  16. #16
    r3d dr9n xtreme_rob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Age
    30
    Posts
    71

    Red
    2000 Trans Am WS6 m6

    Quote Originally Posted by 01 T/A View Post
    you dont have it so the slp part you orderd isnt going to do any thing for you. it sounds like the rearend to me replace the fluid as it recomends and that may help you out. i have a m6 with it so it was an option on all of them.
    So, basically if I don't have the switch, I don't have tcs? Why do they sell the part then?

  17. #17
    Awaiting Activation
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Philly+Glenmoore, Pa
    Age
    28
    Posts
    4,704

    Pewter Metallic
    2002 Trans Am WS6 M6 D1SC

    Quote Originally Posted by xtreme_rob View Post
    So, basically if I don't have the switch, I don't have tcs? Why do they sell the part then?
    Just for fun i guess? nah, probably as a replacement for what ever reason.

    Heres mine, notice the slot in front of the shifter above the shift pattern? That means no TCS.


    See the place with the switch in this one. Thats the TCS switch.

  18. #18
    Impounded
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Beaver Dam KY
    Posts
    7,746

    79 T/A -91 Firebird
    1998 Trans Am -Oynx Black

    Traction control is an option on all our our ls1 cars. Pop the hood and look for the giant module beside the battery. A lot didnt come with them. Its only good in the rain and snow.. otherwise its worthless...

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Newport, RI
    Posts
    1,550

    Navy Blue Metallic
    '00 Formy A4

    Quote Originally Posted by xtreme_rob View Post
    So, basically if I don't have the switch, I don't have tcs? Why do they sell the part then?

    They sell the part because some people DO have TCS.

    I have it, and I just leave it on 95% of the time. Only time I shut it off is if I want to spin the tires. Otherwise I don't even notice it's on, and I'd rather not look at the "TCS OFF" light on the dash.

  20. #20
    Senior Member Too Fast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Age
    54
    Posts
    5,170

    Black
    2000 WS6 6spd Hooker LT

    Another reason I am glad no TCS: I forgot that those who have TC don't have that little cubby. I put my garage door opener there. My right foot is my TC!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

LinkBacks (?)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. switch from K&N CAI to lid
    By Yourbeat in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 05-16-2012, 12:38 AM
  2. OK SO Let me switch it up :)
    By MacGyver in forum Almost Anything Goes
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-29-2010, 01:51 PM
  3. wire from stop lamp switch to turn/hazard switch?
    By swisscheese in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-12-2008, 12:22 AM
  4. FS: Nitrous Outlet switch panel & WOT switch
    By MagicMan in forum Parts For Sale / Trade
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-28-2006, 09:12 AM
  5. RPM window switch, and WOT switch
    By corvettelover in forum Parts Wanted / Trade
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-02-2005, 01:21 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •