should I get this ws6?

This is a discussion on should I get this ws6? within the Firebird / WS6 forums, part of the Vehicle Specific category; Hey everyone, I found a ws6 at a dealer online but I have yet to test drive or visually see ...

should I get this ws6?

Hey everyone, I found a ws6 at a dealer online but I have yet to test drive or visually see it in person. (btw I'm completely new to muscle cars so forgive my lack of knowledge)

Here is the link for it:
    2002 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am $11,980 - Sun Diego Pre-Owned San Diego California 92121

What my concern is that the engine was rebuilt at 96k (due to some engine knock). Does this usually mean the previous owner drove it like crap? If so, what are the chances of the transmission or any other expensive parts going bad as well? Any input would be greatly appreciated!

Super Moderator

Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

Sometimes, things just let go in an engine irrespective of how it is driven or cared for. I'd let the overall condition of the car dictate your decision. The add references 16" wheels, however, an '02 should have 17's on it. The wheels appear to be correct, I just can't make out the tire size in the pic. Price I know nothing about, but we have a couple of good threads on both buying and F-body and pricing one.

Pewter
    2002 Trans Am WS6 M6

With a rebuild it should be good. Llike jeff said it could have let go b/c of anything. My grandmothers 67k mile buicks oil pump went out and caused the engine to seize up. Just happens even to the easiest driven cars. Read up on the threads for what to look for. If it was driven hard you should be able to tell that way. Plus that engine bay looks pretty stock. Assuming that is that they didnt revert everything before trading it in.

Bright Rally Red
    2001 Chevy Camaro Z28