Thread: Running hot

white/Black
    1999 Pontiac Firebird

Running hot

My car is runnin hot after a lap around town smokin a cig my temp gauge is already at 210. I have a 165 degree thermostat just put in less than 6 months ago and flushed the radiator last month but thats not helpin for some reason so any ideas or suggestions? thanks

navy blue metallic
    2002 camaro ss

Quote Originally Posted by izzhemp View Post
    My car is runnin hot after a lap around town smokin a cig my temp gauge is already at 210. I have a 165 degree thermostat just put in less than 6 months ago and flushed the radiator last month but thats not helpin for some reason so any ideas or suggestions? thanks
    make sure your fan is coming on, sometimes the relays go. mine went and when I bought a new one I had a tune done to get the fans on sooner. Worked great
    2002 Camaro SS/M6. Volant CAI, 80mm TB w/spacer, cat delete w/ ory, borla XR-1 w/ cme, custom tune, 3.73's, 8,000k HID headlights and foglights, 19" staggered ruff 278 wheels.

1999 Formula WS6 M6-sold
    2001 Silverado Z71

Quote Originally Posted by izzhemp View Post
    The temp gauge on these cars isn't accurate and will always read around 205 to 210 degrees after the engine is warmed up. Its a dummy gauge barely better then a warning light.

ʢ ൧ ൨ ൩ ൪ ൫ ൬ ൭ ൮Ր Ց Ւ Փ Smittro's Avatar

White
    2008 Hummer H3

First, don't hold your breath on the stock guage being completely accurate.. Second, 210 is normal with a stock thermo.. Do you have a SES light on?
    :\Users\Steven\Pictures\d6ftg5nh.gif

Suggestion: If you are particularly irritated by another member's posting habits and are constantly fighting the urge to flame them, you can click on that person's profile, and select "Add to ignore list." This will make that person's posts invisible to you.

ʢ ൧ ൨ ൩ ൪ ൫ ൬ ൭ ൮Ր Ց Ւ Փ Smittro's Avatar

White
    2008 Hummer H3

Thumbs up

Quote Originally Posted by Cutlass View Post