Thread: Rebuild

Red
    1999 Trans Am ws.6

Rebuild

ok so i finally got my money saved up after along year of dreaming and talking...im finally starting my rebuild....any tips or pointers? and i plan on just re ringing the engine and putting in new bearings unless anything else is needed or looks bad...im also puttin on an ls6 intake and porting/polishing the heads...im looking to drop in a Trex cam(Thunder Racing TRx V.2 - 242/248 .608/.612 110lsa +2)car isnt really going to be a dd anymore even tho ill lend up drivin her anyway cus i cant get enough of it only on nice days...now i might flycut the pistons so i can mil the heads down a lil bit for a lil more compression what else should i change besides the regular cam parts like springs,rods....im new to internally moding an engine ant help would be nice.Also is there any other cam thatl give me a nice boost with an awsom idle?unless any of u think otherwise about the trex let me know...thanks in advance.

Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

After tear down get the thing measured up and check for ridges in the tops of the cylinder walls and see how your crosshatch looks. Stock block accepts a max overbore of .010" if I recall.

midnight blue
    2000 trans am

Good luck man, and dont go for the sound go for what will best suit your set up.

black
    '02 trans am ws6

Why flycut when you can save a bit more and get a set of dished pistons? If you're already rebuilding might as well do it once and do it right. If its gonna be a often strip/occasional street car the TRex will be ok, although I'd rather have a custom cam that's paired with your heads, intake, performance requirements, and even have the idle you desire.
    '02 ws6.....mods? nope

Red
    1999 Trans Am ws.6

Quote Originally Posted by '02 WS6 View Post