Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: PlZ help

Navy Blue Metallic
    2001 WS-6 M6

Unhappy PlZ help

Newbie here had my NBM for like 5 days and i believe i already fucked her up think i blew a head gasket? its going tick tick now when i drive it or start her up. anyone PLZ tell me some knowledge to fix my baby. had a real bad bad night n i drove her to hard. kind of sounds like a knocking noise when i start her up. realized i fucked up so when it happened i drove her straight home four miles n parked her! anybody PLZ throw some knowlege way im devastasted!!!

Navy Blue Metallic
    `98 Formula M6 HdTp

Is it a knock or a tick/tap sound ?

Did you over rev the engine or miss a gear?
    Because it could be a broken/bent pushrod which is a relatively easy fix.
    Craig
    Semi Retired Street Racer
    2012 Lava Red Mustang GT Coupe Brembo/3.73's
    Build Date 3/17/11, Last Lava Red GT

Gone but not forgoten
    NBM `98 Formula M6 HdTp
    1 of 1 Build Date 3/12/98

Awaiting Activation

Pewter Metallic
    2002 Trans Am WS6 M6 D1SC

Can you tell if its coming from inside the engine or is it an external noise like an exhaust leak?

Black on Black
    2001 Trans Am WS6

Quote Originally Posted by 9T8W66 View Post

That's the first thing that entered my mind. If you over reved it then you might have bent a push rod.

If you blew a head gasket then wouldn't you find water in the oil. Oil being brown or a little frothy?

See if you can isolate the sound. See where it's coming from.

Shouldn't have to mention about taking it out on the TA. That's an expensive lesson.....

now greybat66

Red
    1998 trans am

if it were a head gasket you would see white smoke , it sounds like you bend a pushrod but by driving it you might have hurt the motor usually your computer makes the car run like shit so you wont hurt the car more than you allready have.Have the drivetrain checked but dont drive the car.

MRM
    2002 T/A M6