MAF screen question

This is a discussion on MAF screen question within the Firebird / WS6 forums, part of the Vehicle Specific category; I was just curious about the MAF screen thing that i have been reading about. I am kind of new ...

White
    2002 Trans Am WS6

MAF screen question

I was just curious about the MAF screen thing that i have been reading about. I am kind of new with the V8 tech, since i just sold my turbo talon. I was wondering how you remove this and if it is good for the car and if it can give you any more HP?

Lots of posts on this...personally I'd leave it alone. Search "MAF screen"

Red
    1998 Pontiac Trans Am

it's a iffy subject. I've had ported MAF ends for 5 years and have had no problems. But there's no difference really in power

Black
    2001 Trans Am (sold)

Most will say leave it alone.

414 RWHP 395 RWTQ
    00 Black Ram Air Trans Am

The minimal possible gains aren't worth the possible headaches that come from removing it.

Red Tint Jewelcoat
    2008 Trailblazer SS

The MAF is actually designed to read with the screen in.

SGM
    1998 Trans Am WS6

Just leave the screen in unless you get it ported.

Its designed to work with the screen in place, not worth the hassle for the .1 HP gain

flat black