Results 1 to 5 of 5

Installing Oil Pressure guage

This is a discussion on Installing Oil Pressure guage within the Firebird / WS6 forums, part of the Vehicle Specific category; I got an Autometer Phantom Oil pressure gauge (electric/full sweep). Anyone install one of these? I understand that I need ...

  1. #1
    Senior Member Wheeler99WS6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    indiana
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,018

    black, 05 Roush
    black, 99 T/A WS.6

    Installing Oil Pressure guage

    I got an Autometer Phantom Oil pressure gauge (electric/full sweep). Anyone install one of these? I understand that I need to connect positive wire to a 12v dashlight wire somewhere for the ligh bulb, any tips on that?

    Grounding it will be easy enough.

    Now the signal wire I am lost on. I need all the advice I can get on that one.

  2. #2
    someday joejenkinsglass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Iowa
    Age
    40
    Posts
    1,120

    green
    98 formula

    well if you got the correct size put it in the air vent on the dash and the signal wire is on the rear of the engine on top just behind the intake you will have to splice it to keep the factory guage operating the plug on that year will probably have 2 wires check the pin on the sender to see which one is used clear as mud now

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    215
    When wiring my a-pillar gauges I located the fuse for my instrument lights and tapped into that 12 volt supply by pulling the fuse block forward and finding the wire that went to that particular fuse. That way my cabin light rheostat controlled brightness along with my other instruments and those gauges are fused right along with the rest.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Wheeler99WS6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    indiana
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,018

    black, 05 Roush
    black, 99 T/A WS.6

    It comes with another sender unit, I was reading that it comes with another sender unit due to the voltage the units use and if I hook up to gauges to one sender unit it will make them both read incorrectly due to incorrect voltage. But with that said is there an auxillary port to install the additional sender unit to. Where on the block is it? Near oil filter I assume. LMK guys.

  5. #5
    someday joejenkinsglass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Iowa
    Age
    40
    Posts
    1,120

    green
    98 formula

    sounds like you are right on track most people just wire the light on all the time remember the details

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. fuel pressure guage
    By WS6S in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 06-07-2011, 10:48 PM
  2. oil pressure guage
    By 02cetransam in forum General Help
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-14-2008, 10:22 AM
  3. Installing Oil Pressure guage
    By Wheeler99WS6 in forum General Help
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-19-2007, 12:00 AM
  4. Oil Pressure Guage
    By NHRAMAN in forum General Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-14-2006, 03:41 PM
  5. Oil pressure guage
    By Steveh in forum General Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-02-2005, 06:16 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •