Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Red
    1998 Trans Am

I wanna get on the Track..But need some help...

I have a 1998 WS6 Vert. A4

There are not many places around me to race, but there is an 1/8 strip about 15 mins away. I am not going to go to crazy with it, because I am currently a college student who's just glad to have a TA. I cant do many mods at this time. My TA is all stock. I am not sure what kind of 1/8 mile time i should run or the rules I would have to change to be "legal."

I am wondering what all I would have to do to be "legal" at this track. I would love to have a little competition and put this beast to the test.

Here are some rules I'm unsure about....

Auto Trans Reverse Lockout:
    Any non-OME automatic floor-mounted transmission shifter must be equipped with a spring-loaded positive reverse lockout device to prevent the shifter from accidentally being put in reverse gear.

Roll Bars:
    Unless otherwise required by your class: Roll Bars required on convertibles running quicker than 7.00 - 8.59. Roll Bars required on all cars (including
    T-tops) running quicker than 7.00 - 7.49.

Roll Cages:
    Roll Cages required on convertibles running 6.99 or faster than 135mph. Roll Cages required on all cars running 6.99 or faster than 135mph. - One exception: full-bodied cars running between 6.40 and 6.99, with unaltered firewalls, floor and body (from firewall rearward - wheel tubes permitted) can compete with just a roll bar. Faster than a 6.39 you need a chassis sticker and have the car reinspected every 3 years.

Liquid Overflow:
    All cars must have a recovery system or catch can (minimum of 16 oz.) for the car's radiator.

Drive-shaft loop:
    If you have slicks, you must have a drive-shaft loop. If your car runs 8.13 or quicker, you will need a drive
    shaft loop, even if you are running street tires.

Seat Belts:
    All cars must be equipped with an accepted quick release type driver seat belt. All cars in competition