Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Horrible gas mileage/brakes squill hardcore

This is a discussion on Horrible gas mileage/brakes squill hardcore within the Firebird / WS6 forums, part of the Vehicle Specific category; Originally Posted by pajeff02 I have never used ceramic pads before, so I'm not even sure if you need to ...

white/Black
    1999 Pontiac Firebird

Quote Originally Posted by pajeff02 View Post
    I have never used ceramic pads before, so I'm not even sure if you need to bed them. Bedding the pads involves a series of starts and stops where you get up to around 20-25 mph and then bring the car to a stop with a semi-firm pedal. You do this anywhere from 10-20 times and it heats the pads. This process, known as "bedding" acts to season the pads and helps them last longer.

If you have some free time on your hands, it may not be a bad idea to lube your caliper pins. It's a simple process and is cheap insurance considering the cost of brakes and rotors. Here's what you do:

1. Put the car up one end at a time and remove the wheel you want to work on first.

2. Grab a coathanger and cut it to fashion a short hook that is several inches long. This will give you something to hang the calipers from when they are removed from the bracket. You never want to let them hang by the hose.

3. Unbolt your caliper using a socket and a wrench on the flat part of the pin to keep it from turning.

4. After the caliper is removed, pop the rubber dust boot off of the bracket as you slide the pin out of its hole. If the pins are seized, you will need to also remove the bracket to work on them. The worst one I had was on the front of our T/A -- I had to turn the pin with a wrench as I heated the body of the casting with a propane torch.