Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    lekhak

Help with purchasing a Trans AM

Hi Everyone !!!

I've been looking to buy a Trans AM for under $15K for some time now.
    Got hold of a good looking 2000 model for $14K with 52K on the odometer - KBB value being $14,600 (dealership), it looks like a good deal on the surface.

As for the problem at hand - the salesman told me that everything was in perfect working condition; but then, when I started the radio, the speakers were making a terrible noise.
    Also when I roll up/down the windows I could feel the door vibrating as if the motor were leaned against the inner face of the door - is this normal/expected?

The salesman told me that the previous owner might have installed custom speakers - inside the door causing the vibration of the door - and improperly wired back the original ones in the rear causing the noise. He also assured me that it will be fixed when I get back there tomorrow (monday) evening.

I'm new to buying cars and especially a Trans-AM. Can you recommend a couple of things that I need to check before I dive in for this huge investment? Figured out a couple - steering stereo controls and shock sensor (now where are its controls?).

Thanks a million.

Detailing + Design third_shift|studios's Avatar

My life is a
    Ben Stiller movie.

ok, don't buy it. That's it. leave that one and move on to another one. I wish i was that skeptical when i bought mine, but now i have to fix a bunch of stuff, and i wasn't privy to this site-mainly b/c i didn't look anything up about the car to begin with so you are starting off on a better foot than I.

I suggest a 01-02 model if you're looking for a manual b/c they have better master/slave cylinders and better synchronizers.