Engine knock???

This is a discussion on Engine knock??? within the Firebird / WS6 forums, part of the Vehicle Specific category; Hello all. Newbie here. I'm looking at a 2001 WS6 T/A. The engine has a knock on the right side ...

Question Engine knock???

Hello all. Newbie here. I'm looking at a 2001 WS6 T/A. The engine has a knock on the right side of the motor. The owner thought it was a clutch problem but their garage said it was a lifter. The noise is loud when you first start the engine but it quiets down somewhat after it has idled for a short time. Aren't lifter noises more of a ticking? This is a knock. I am upgrading from an 89 Firebird with a 2.8. I am not familiar with the LS-1. Are these engines prone to engine problems? i.e rods, lifters......
    Looking for recommendations as what to check when I go back to look it over. The check engine light is also on but I'm going to take a code reader back with me.

Black
    99 WS.6 - Modified

G'day and welcome to the site, Aaron. LS engines are just like any other engine, and when properly maintained can run strong and long. Without actually hearing the noise, I would recommend pulling the valve cover if possible to inspect the rockers. Check the valve springs as well. If the engine was revved high, it's common to bend pushrods. I would also check the fluids, and see if there is any cross-contamination of fluids - ie. coolant in the oil, oil in the coolant, ect.

Black
    99 WS.6 - Modified

You can also use a dowel or screwdriver pressed against the valve cover, and other areas, and your ear to try to locate the exact location of the noise. Hopefully it's not in the bottom end of the motor. That could indicate a bad bearing or rod knock.

As always, use caution if you do use that method.