Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Complete Newb seeking advice...

How's that for a first post title? Alright, here's the sitch:

I've been strictly a Honda and Toyota guy and never paid the Big 3 any attention up until the past weekend. I currently drive a 1991 Acura Legend Coupe with a 5MT(pretty rare for that car). I love driving manual, but a severe injury about a year and a half ago wrecked that dream pretty badly; my Legend is a chore to drive and I've been wanting to replace it with an automatic for several months now. I've been looking at other cars(mostly newer Acuras and BMWs) but nothing has really caught my eye.

Last weekend my future stepdad(long story) flew me out to meet him. As a result he let me borrow his '02 T/A WS6 6M for the weekend. The fact that I'm posting here should speak volumes about my experience... I loved the car. While driving my Legend for more than 20-30 miles in city conditions puts a major strain on my knee, the light clutch on his T/A was an absolute pleasure. I put nearly 300 miles on it in varying conditions with absolutely no pain. Couple that with the insanely powerful LS1 and equal or better gas mileage to what I'm running now and I'm just about convinced to pick up a T/A of my own. I just have a few newbie questions even though I've been lurking and reading up for the past few days.

1. Am I correct in assuming the only major differences between the WS6 and the standard T/A are the ram air system, firmer suspension, and 17" wheels/tires?

2. Is it correct that GM underrated these engines, and they're usually pulling a lot more than the stock 305HP/325HP? If so, how much more power does the WS6's ram air really add? More importantly, how easy is it to get a standard T/A up to that level?