Results 1 to 10 of 10

Blinking radio display

This is a discussion on Blinking radio display within the Firebird / WS6 forums, part of the Vehicle Specific category; What exactly is the cause of the monsoon blinking display. Seems like if I leave mine on for a while ...

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    409

    Blinking radio display

    What exactly is the cause of the monsoon blinking display. Seems like if I leave mine on for a while it clears up, kinda like there is moisture in the internal wiring.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,567

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    First I have heard of this.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    409

    display

    This is a super common problem, there is even a guy on ebay that fixes the problem, pricy though.

  4. #4
    Former Mopar Man 2002ssslp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Branchville, NJ
    Posts
    3,111

    Silver & Blue
    02 Camaro SS, 04 GTO

    Quote Originally Posted by johnfin View Post
    This is a super common problem, there is even a guy on ebay that fixes the problem, pricy though.
    Really ?
    My ride is a 2002 Camaro SS SLP #3296 with 30k, LTH, 3" Y, CME, Frost tune, K&N, ported TB, Blackwing lid, Bellows, MSD, Denso Iridium, and 85mm MAF, Bilsteins, Eibach springs, SLP strut brace, Adj. Panhard, TA Girdle, UMI, Pro 5.0, Nitto NT555
    My wife has a 2004 GTO with the rare SAP, 18" wheels, K&N Cold Air System, MSD, Ported TB, Frost tune, Denso Iridium, Flowmaster cat-back, 3200 Yank, 75k

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    409

    display

    There are ads like this all over the place hence I figure there is a problem with the displays:

    GM Pontiac Monsoon Radio Repair Only for No Display | eBay

  6. #6
    Moderator 98TransAmWs-6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    3,596

    Black/ Silver
    98 TA WS6/ 01 C5 Corvette

    The price seems reasonable to me although the shipping seems a little high.

    Most people I know just replace the unit when they have this problem. The repair might be much cheaper. I have no clue what they go for though.
    Last edited by 98TransAmWs-6; 07-11-2013 at 08:08 AM.
    1998 Trans Am WS6 - Phantom
    421 CI LQ9, Tick Performance Custom Cam, TFS 255cc LS3 heads, Kooks 2" LT headers, Kooks 3" True Duals w/ high flow cats, FTP 104 lid, Speed Density Tune, 4" silicon tube, LS6 VCT, FAST 102 Intake, NW 102 TB, Oil Catch Can, SLP Bilstein Shocks w/ Vogtland Springs, CTS-V 4-piston Calipers w/C6 Z06 rotors, Stainless Steel Brake Lines, R1 concepts premium rotors, Hawk HP+ brake pads, VFN WSQ Hood, C5-R timing chain, SLP oil pump, E85 tune, Walbro 450 fuel pump, Deatschwerkz 95# injectors, Breathless performance headlights, Frost Tune, !HVAC.
    (Coming Soon) BMR DSL, UMI TQ Arm
    421 LQ9 14.8:1 on E85 Build/

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    409

    Bulb

    Yeh, shipping is a bummer with this repair but if its true what some people say the problem is a bulb, would you pay $35 for a light bulb?

  8. #8
    Moderator 98TransAmWs-6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    3,596

    Black/ Silver
    98 TA WS6/ 01 C5 Corvette

    Quote Originally Posted by johnfin View Post
    Yeh, shipping is a bummer with this repair but if its true what some people say the problem is a bulb, would you pay $35 for a light bulb?
    Probably not unless the alternative of replacing the whole unit was way more. You may be able to replace the bulb yourself if that is the issue. From the listing on ebay it sounds like they replace more than just the bulb though.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    409

    display

    I have a feeling its more then the bulb too. My segments go out, and 8 looks like a 3 so I dont see how a back light could do that.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,567

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    Wonder if it is similar to the BCM issue and just bad solder joints?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Help: Radio display out in my 2000 gtp
    By lynx10147 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-04-2011, 04:46 PM
  2. Radio display only lights up sometimes?
    By knightryda01 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-28-2010, 06:56 PM
  3. Help: blinking SES code
    By badazta in forum General Help
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-07-2008, 09:36 PM
  4. Weird Radio display...
    By chad3113 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-04-2007, 09:28 AM
  5. Blinking LED on my tranny?
    By AirMarcus in forum Manual Transmission
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-25-2007, 09:21 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •