Results 1 to 8 of 8

Bad throttle position sensor?

This is a discussion on Bad throttle position sensor? within the Firebird / WS6 forums, part of the Vehicle Specific category; Hey everyone as some of you know last week I threw a SES light and cleaned the maf and it ...

  1. #1
    Senior Member clg82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    California
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,453
    2000 Trans Am

    Bad throttle position sensor?

    Hey everyone as some of you know last week I threw a SES light and cleaned the maf and it took care of it.....Now this morning I turn the car on and it starts to idle really high, when i shifted it into reverse it made a clunk (rpm's too high) then I go to put it into drive (A4) and it clunks again because the rpm's are too high, I am not throwing anymore SES light.......could it be a bad throttle positioning sensor? or something else?suggestions please...
    2000 Arctic White trans am, ws6 hood, ws6 air box, slp lid, slp smooth bellows, slp loudmouth exhaust,shift kit, rebuilt trans, LS6 intake, 3.73 gears, Shaner S3 p/p throttle body, and a tune . SFC. C6 ZO6 rims 18" in back 17" in front. Drilled and slotted rotors.

  2. #2
    King 0f n00bz shady milkman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Shepherd, Michigan
    Age
    29
    Posts
    11,775

    blacker than wesleysnipes
    98' trans am

    Quote Originally Posted by clg82 View Post
    Hey everyone as some of you know last week I threw a SES light and cleaned the maf and it took care of it.....Now this morning I turn the car on and it starts to idle really high, when i shifted it into reverse it made a clunk (rpm's too high) then I go to put it into drive (A4) and it clunks again because the rpm's are too high, I am not throwing anymore SES light.......could it be a bad throttle positioning sensor? or something else?suggestions please...
    a vacuum leak or a tps...for me when i am in SD mode i idle at like 1-1200 and it does that.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Too Fast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Age
    54
    Posts
    5,170

    Black
    2000 WS6 6spd Hooker LT

    Did you mess up the cable going to the TB? (not allowing it to close fully)

  4. #4
    Senior Member clg82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    California
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,453
    2000 Trans Am

    Quote Originally Posted by shady milkman View Post
    a vacuum leak or a tps...for me when i am in SD mode i idle at like 1-1200 and it does that.
    I am going to give the TPS a try sometime this weekend. Hopefully it's not a vacuum leak. Has anyone else experienced this and fixed it with a new sensor?

  5. #5
    Senior Member clg82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    California
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,453
    2000 Trans Am

    Quote Originally Posted by Too Fast View Post
    Did you mess up the cable going to the TB? (not allowing it to close fully)
    Nope

  6. #6
    Senior Member Too Fast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Age
    54
    Posts
    5,170

    Black
    2000 WS6 6spd Hooker LT

    What about the PCV hose near that area where you were working. They are known to go bad there, if it was almost gone, then you touched it, that could've killed it. That would cause a high idle, a vacuum leak.

  7. #7
    Senior Member clg82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    California
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,453
    2000 Trans Am

    Quote Originally Posted by Too Fast View Post
    What about the PCV hose near that area where you were working. They are known to go bad there, if it was almost gone, then you touched it, that could've killed it. That would cause a high idle, a vacuum leak.
    I'll take a look at that tonight....that's right below the front of the intake correct, I didn't check that but I will tonight.......

  8. #8
    Senior Member Too Fast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Age
    54
    Posts
    5,170

    Black
    2000 WS6 6spd Hooker LT

    ^^^yes.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question: Need to change Throttle Position Sensor
    By LS1BL in forum General Help
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-20-2013, 01:02 PM
  2. Help: Installing a throttle position sensor
    By 454transam in forum External Engine
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-03-2010, 12:43 AM
  3. Throttle Position Sensor Voltage
    By SilverFish in forum General Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-30-2008, 01:33 PM
  4. Fuel Problem and Throttle Position Sensor??
    By GottaHaveLS1 in forum General Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-23-2008, 03:42 PM
  5. throttle position sensor
    By dpinson in forum Nitrous
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-24-2007, 02:22 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •