Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Is it bad for the car to skip shifts????

This is a discussion on Is it bad for the car to skip shifts???? within the Firebird / WS6 forums, part of the Vehicle Specific category; Originally Posted by pbguy357 I do exact same, 1st, 3rd, 5th, or 1st 4th 5th 6th and downshift, I had ...

Black
    2000 WS6 6spd Hooker LT

Quote Originally Posted by pbguy357 View Post
    I do exact same, 1st, 3rd, 5th, or 1st 4th 5th 6th and downshift, I had front brakes on my last 01 last over 45k but I didn't downshift hard. When I did this in the car I was about to buy, after I said I didn't want it he sent me a rude email saying he was going to tell me to go home because I didn't know how to shift the car lol. I responded back nicely
    Sounds like you made the right move. Why would anyone insult a potential buyer lol. GM had the skip shift in f-bodies and 'vettes, and still does in the 'vettes, AFAIK.

Where in IN is this ''mechanic''? I'm in Indy, I've been a tech for most of my life, and now I'm teaching the newbies at our company. I could talk to him about transmissions....

My car just crossed 100k with the OE front pads, but they are now down to the wear sensor.

2001 Trans Am Ws6

I actually drove over 650 miles to PA so he's not from Indiana. I only went because he said it was "perfect" shape and he fixed everything on the interior that he listed. All was a lie, carpet was coming away from door, cracks in the panel's were over 2 inches long, faded interior, plastic broke in back hatch and decals he put on that weren't even level. so kinda was a bit angry after seeing it and driving all that way. I guess he likes to have the tires chirp and shift hard at 3.5k to 4k like he does rather than someone driving it softly and skipping gears and not driving aggressively.

ʢ ൧ ൨ ൩ ൪ ൫ ൬ ൭ ൮Ր Ց Ւ Փ Smittro's Avatar

White
    2008 Hummer H3

Quote Originally Posted by Spikito View Post
    Im no expert.....but here's my understanding