Navy Blue Metallic
    2002 Chevrolet Camaro Z28

Thumbs up To Swap, or not to swap, that is the question.

Well I would like to say hello first off, I'm new to the LS1 clan. I just purchased my 2002 Z A4 about a month ago and let the Mods begin. First thing I would like to do is swap my rear end gears from the stock to either a 3.73 or a 4.10, now I have been reading through some threads and noticed that this is a touchy subject. But my situation is that I do not drive in winter, I would like to take it on trips (by trips I mean no loger than 200miles). Gas consumption is not to concerning to me, I just want the most noticable bang for my buck. Also which brands the shop that I'm thinking about taking it to reccomended Richmond and I also have heard Motive to be good as well. Basically what I want out of this car is to be a stop light sleeper, I'm probably not going to be going to the track that often. So with this I appreciate any and all help!

Black
    2000 Pontiac Trans Am WS6

4.10's are alittle to much for an auto go with 3.73.

2002 Z28 A4 NBM
    Sadly now demodded :(

FYI, the "Midnight Blue" color is called Navy Blue Metallic (NBM for short) by the factory. I happen to be partial to this color myself. How many miles are there on your Z? My car is an A4 and I have 3.73 gears.

Also, besides the gears (and unless you're into N2O) your best "bang for the buck" mod will be headers (LT's if you can) and a freer flowing exhaust with a cutout. LT's, 3" ORY and a E-cutout made my car .5 sec quicker in the 1/4 mile. This was back when I had 2.73's. I was also on DR's. Haven't been back to the track with the 3.73's yet.

2 SS's are better than 1 Jays00ss's Avatar

NBM / Silver
    00 SS / 71 SS Elcamino

my buddy I work with use to work at a differential shop and put mine in. Had it done in 2 hours. I would Highly suggest haveing them done buy someone who has done it before.