Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 26 of 26

New Rotors??

This is a discussion on New Rotors?? within the Camaro / SS forums, part of the Vehicle Specific category; Can you turn slotted or drilled rotors?...

  1. #21
    Rollo Tomassee AKIRA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Outside the box
    Age
    37
    Posts
    2,887
    Can you turn slotted or drilled rotors?

  2. #22
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    Quote Originally Posted by BREAKxNECKxSPEED View Post
    I guess you machine a new pressure plate too before putting a clutch in??
    Come on now.
    Actually yes I do, if need be. They also have to be checked for runout as well.

  3. #23
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    Quote Originally Posted by AKIRA View Post
    Can you turn slotted or drilled rotors?
    Yes you can, but one of the big reasons I stay away from the slotted rotors is because of the fact that the slots are not very deep,,,,,after 1-2 machinings they dissappear. Not what I call,,,,"worth the money" in my opinion. I am not going to pay $200 or more for a pair of front rotors if I cannot machine them at least 2-3 times, and feel like I got my moneys worth out of them. $200 for rotors that have to be tossed every brake job because they can't be machined properly? No thanks.

    I would imagine this would only be a concern on a car that is driven daily and does front brake jobs every 30-40,000 miles.

    On a garage queen this really wouldn't be much of an issue.

  4. #24
    I lika da Chevy's LETHALxLS1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,328

    BLACK
    Z/28 LS1

    Quote Originally Posted by Firebirdjones View Post
    Actually yes I do, if need be. They also have to be checked for runout as well.

    I am no mechanic for sure but any time I replaced a clutch I bought a new pressure plate and throwout bearing assembled it and drove it. I had a s-10truck that I got 300,000 out of it and only put 1 clutch and 1 set of brakes on it. I guess I am not a "hard braker" LOL.

  5. #25
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    Ya I understand. On most run of the mill cars like the S10 you mentioned I don't really worry about it. It's on the high HP applications where I am more critical about the clutch.
    I always check for runout with a dial indicator and I also like to mount the bell housing and check it as well and use adjustable dowl pins if necessary to center the bell housing with the crank centerline. If it's off just a slight amount it puts undue stress on the input shaft and can cause shifting problems when you really try to hang some gears.

    Thats mainly on the older stuff I play with though.

  6. #26
    I lika da Chevy's LETHALxLS1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,328

    BLACK
    Z/28 LS1

    I understand you just want things to be right-thats a good thing in my book.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Help with rotors
    By johnfin in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-23-2012, 05:02 AM
  2. Rotors?
    By wooddaniel in forum GTO
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 12-18-2008, 10:05 PM
  3. how to take off the rotors?
    By slpgto2004 in forum GTO
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-28-2007, 04:57 AM
  4. Rotors
    By Solidify in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-03-2006, 06:25 PM
  5. rotors
    By smokenum in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-01-2006, 06:09 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •