New to the car

This is a discussion on New to the car within the Camaro / SS forums, part of the Vehicle Specific category; I just got my 01 camaro, traded my turbo s2000 away. Its completely stock I have a small build in ...

White
    2001 camaro z28

New to the car

I just got my 01 camaro, traded my turbo s2000 away. Its completely stock I have a small build in mind for now I have about 2500$ budget to spend next weekend, I wanna get a 228r cam and cat back exhaust, with tuner and tune. I have a few questions will I need a stall converter? Why is it needed? Can I install the cam? I'm a pretty good mechanic but never have done a cam on cam in block engine. What power would be likely to be seen it's an A4 by the way. Average 1/4 mile time? If someone was in the same position ad me what would you recommend for starting parts selection? Thanks for yalls time I no it's pretty newbie questions I'm use to 4 bangers

Velocity Yellow
    2008 Corvette Z06

Quote Originally Posted by Jermocaleb View Post
    I just got my 01 camaro, traded my turbo s2000 away. Its completely stock I have a small build in mind for now I have about 2500$ budget to spend next weekend, I wanna get a 228r cam and cat back exhaust, with tuner and tune. I have a few questions will I need a stall converter? Why is it needed? Can I install the cam? I'm a pretty good mechanic but never have done a cam on cam in block engine. What power would be likely to be seen it's an A4 by the way. Average 1/4 mile time? If someone was in the same position ad me what would you recommend for starting parts selection? Thanks for yalls time I no it's pretty newbie questions I'm use to 4 bangers
    Stall converter is not needed but highly recommended for any A4 car. Especially when you are adding a higher power band cam.