Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast

Help me decide!!

This is a discussion on Help me decide!! within the Camaro / SS forums, part of the Vehicle Specific category; Originally Posted by Z28_SS I love your analogy Well i do have the lt headers from pacesetter along with the ...

no more 4th gen secondgearscratch's Avatar

Pewter
    2000 z28

Quote Originally Posted by Z28_SS View Post
    I love your analogy

Well i do have the lt headers from pacesetter along with the ory. i just have the stock muffler.

I feel like such a newbie sometimes but what is lsa.
    yeah, he's a badass aint he?

and dont feel like just because youre new youre stupid dude, how would you learn if you didnt ask? hell, im a newbie too.

anyway, L.S.A. stands for Lobe Separation Angle which is just the angle between the highest lift points between the intake and exhaust valves. (how do you think i know that...telepathy? nah, i read it, then i looked at a cam and learned how it worked, kinda)

lobe separation increases overlap with the valves which is a good thing. the lower the L.S.A. number, the more amount of valve overlap depending on the cam duration. overlap allows a new af mixture to enter the cylinders and push the old one out at the same time because both of the valves are open at the same time. now heres the kicker. the lower the L.S.A number results in a (technically) poorer idle. if we were to get technical with this, a cam with a choppy idle isnt doing its job very well. but since that cam "lope" is the sound everyone wants, we all forget that.

heres how it is
    113-114 L.S.A somewhat stock idle quality

112-110 very choppy