Results 1 to 17 of 17

is G Tech good for test-tune on street if cant go to track?

This is a discussion on is G Tech good for test-tune on street if cant go to track? within the Camaro / SS forums, part of the Vehicle Specific category; dont have time for the track everyweek but i do lots of passes on the street. is the g tech ...

  1. #1
    Senior Member greatwhiteZ28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    d
    Age
    33
    Posts
    3,675

    white
    2002 z28

    is G Tech good for test-tune on street if cant go to track?

    dont have time for the track everyweek but i do lots of passes on the street. is the g tech worth it/accurate to show gains from new mods since i cant always do passes at the track. and which out of the two are better for me the $200 or 300.

  2. #2
    Rollo Tomassee AKIRA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Outside the box
    Age
    37
    Posts
    2,887
    Yes. Just makes sure you use the same road.

  3. #3
    Member Corey1987's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Greenville, NC
    Age
    30
    Posts
    231

    Black
    1998 Z/28

    my buddy had an automatic honda and turned the EXACT same time at the track and on a g tech meter, 17.9

  4. #4
    Member Mjolnir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    456

    White/Black
    1999 Camaro z28

    lmao

  5. #5
    SS#430 1 of 74 7camaro7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    1,754

    Pewter
    02SS6spd VERT!

    I like mine, my girl got it off ebay.

  6. #6
    Member Mjolnir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    456

    White/Black
    1999 Camaro z28

    they look pretty cool. I just think id want to make a custom mount some where if i got one.

  7. #7
    Feels so good BadBlueBird*'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Ga
    Age
    35
    Posts
    3,184

    LeMans
    2005 Corvette 2005 GTO

    For what it is, sure. As stated, works better if you use the same area.

  8. #8
    Senior Member greatwhiteZ28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    d
    Age
    33
    Posts
    3,675

    white
    2002 z28

    why the same road?

  9. #9
    SS#430 1 of 74 7camaro7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    1,754

    Pewter
    02SS6spd VERT!

    Personally I don't think the same road matters. The instruction manual is pretty big for just like 3 or for buttons but I read that it self levels. The gtech pro SS which is the one I've got does that. as long as the land you're on is level then you're good. I don't know what makes my SS model special from the others but I really like it. It saves runs and everything. shows (net) hp, torque, 0-60 30-60 (pretty much whatever you want, g's forward backward left right, its lots of fun.

    I suggest that if you get one just use it when you're only driving for fun or at the track because otherwise its just on and not really being used.

    by the way mine is mounted directly above the steering wheel but as high up on the windshield as I could get it and still see it comfortably. When the shift lights come on they're out of my way but definitely seen.

  10. #10
    Exalted Cyclops 67CamaroRSSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,824

    2002 Z28 A4 NBM
    Sadly now demodded :(

    Quote Originally Posted by Corey1987 View Post
    my buddy had an automatic honda and turned the EXACT same time at the track and on a g tech meter, 17.9
    And these guys (ricers) insist on clogging the lanes at Firebird on Friday night.... all to run a 17.9 in Mama's Hondog.

  11. #11
    Impounded MikeSomething's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Old Bridge, NJ
    Age
    37
    Posts
    1,420

    Pewter Metallic
    '00 Z/28

    My friend has one, he said it's a 5hp diff give or take then off of a dyno (which is pretty damn good for something that plugs into your cig lighter!). Thinkin about getting one. Is the RR model worth the extra $100.00 tho? Or should I just get the SS one and call it a day?

  12. #12
    M6 King Hot Black Trans-Am's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    5,085
    Blog Entries
    1

    09 EclipseGT 75 Chevy 4x4
    2001 Trans-Am 13 F-XT

    Get the RR. I want to send my SS back and have it updated to the RR. It'll let you post runs you do with it when people try to call BS on you. It be nice to be able to keep track of stuff on a PC too.

  13. #13
    Impounded MikeSomething's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Old Bridge, NJ
    Age
    37
    Posts
    1,420

    Pewter Metallic
    '00 Z/28

    Quote Originally Posted by Hot Black Trans-Am View Post
    Get the RR. I want to send my SS back and have it updated to the RR. It'll let you post runs you do with it when people try to call BS on you. It be nice to be able to keep track of stuff on a PC too.
    Will do...thanks man!

  14. #14
    Senior Member ss~zoso~ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    )
    Posts
    9,128

    SS: NBM, tan top
    1998-SS, 2010 Jetta TDI

    well the RR is no different in the ways that it gets data, so each is equally accurate,, but the RR lets u plug it into you computer

  15. #15
    Member Corey1987's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Greenville, NC
    Age
    30
    Posts
    231

    Black
    1998 Z/28

    Quote Originally Posted by 67CamaroRSSS View Post
    And these guys (ricers) insist on clogging the lanes at Firebird on Friday night.... all to run a 17.9 in Mama's Hondog.
    haha, yeh well he wrecked it, now he has a 13 sec NA civic.

  16. #16
    Rollo Tomassee AKIRA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Outside the box
    Age
    37
    Posts
    2,887
    Quote Originally Posted by 7camaro7 View Post
    Personally I don't think the same road matters. The instruction manual is pretty big for just like 3 or for buttons but I read that it self levels. The gtech pro SS which is the one I've got does that. as long as the land you're on is level then you're good. I don't know what makes my SS model special from the others but I really like it. It saves runs and everything. shows (net) hp, torque, 0-60 30-60 (pretty much whatever you want, g's forward backward left right, its lots of fun.

    I suggest that if you get one just use it when you're only driving for fun or at the track because otherwise its just on and not really being used.

    by the way mine is mounted directly above the steering wheel but as high up on the windshield as I could get it and still see it comfortably. When the shift lights come on they're out of my way but definitely seen.
    The land may be level where you adjust (or it self adjusts), but the road may dip or rise 70 feet ahead. Using the same road each time will give you closer accuracy for knowing if your mods are working one by one. If you use a different road that dips or rises more, then it may seem like your new mods are better or worse than they actually are.

  17. #17
    Senior Member greatwhiteZ28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    d
    Age
    33
    Posts
    3,675

    white
    2002 z28

    o so thats has it reads it

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. whats the diff with a full dyno tune and a street tune?
    By Justin23454 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-04-2007, 07:31 AM
  2. Anyone test LM I vs LM II at the track ??
    By 2003Firehawk in forum External Engine
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-27-2007, 01:32 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •