Black
    1999 TA WS.6

Who here knows how to TIG weld?

I got MIG welding down pretty good from my last job. Now, I want to own a TIG welder, I have never TIG welded before. It is catching my eye because of the work I wanna do on my car someday. I have my eye on this setup http://www.northerntool.com/webapp/w...-Search%20Page.

Anyone have other options? If you know MIG, will TIG come easier? I view knowing how to TIG weld and MIG weld being a great side job money maker and saving big money on turbo setups when you get really good. Who knows how, Opinions?

Gray/ White
    09Ram 1500 83 Thunderturd

Those I know that know how compare it to braising. I've never tried it before though

Sebring Silver
    2000 CamaroSS

With the exception of a foot control, I find it very much like welding with an oxy/acytelene torch, or brazing

Silver
    2007 CTS-V

TIG is a little more like ARC to me. You have to use a rod that wears down so you have to move across and down at the same time.

Black
    1999 TA WS.6

I heard the foot control makes it alot easier.

red
    1998 Z28

with tig it all depends on the base metal steel welds pretty much the same no matter what kinda welder u use stainless run smooth its aluminum thats the beast for most people i spent around a month trying to get the hang of it

MIG in my personal opinion is the worst way to weld its my last choice in the shop

ARC is second to none with its strenght

TIG is my baby i love it u can weld almost any metal with it

once u learn to use the foot petal to ur advantage ull love it untill then ull hate it and want to concure it

in short TIG=fun clean and a sexy bead

Retired Outlaw Sum Bitch

Po...I can giT Weld but not Tig. I do it with a TIG welder but I do it in a mirror.

'06 Z06 & '05 Ram SRT-10

TIG welding is a different style obviously, but if you know how to do MIG welding, then it might be a bit easier to learn..

ʢ ൧ ൨ ൩ ൪ ൫ ൬ ൭ ൮Ր Ց Ւ Փ Smittro's Avatar

White
    2008 Hummer H3