Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question for the runners out there

I've decided I need to get into shape, so I've added running to my mix of things to do every other day or so. My question is, what is considered beginners, average, fast and pro in terms of going a mile? I'm not talking like flat out track running a mile, I'm talkin the kind of running youd do on a boardwalk or on the beach, like a fast jog even paced go. I don't even know where to begin to estimate, I have no experience in running what so ever. ie. like in a car, 16 seconds would be a beginners 1/4 mile, 14 would be average, 12 would be fast, 10 and below are pro... you get my generalization

Black
    2000 Trans Am WS6

6 is fast
    10 minutes is a slowish pace
    go for 8

Black
    2000 Trans Am WS6

just time yourself and see where you go form there...it doesnt really matter what other people consider good, jsut push yourself and see how good you can do

05 Wrangler
    00 Z28 sold :-(

Who cares about the mile...a 3 mile run will give you a better idea of the shape you're in IMO. Anything under 18 min is fast...18-19 is pretty quick...20-22 is decent...22+ is the beginning of being slow. Running a mile is more about someones speed then actual endurance. So if someone is a faster sprinter than you you'll probably lose a mile race even if you're in better cardio shape.

Gray
    2012 Challenger R/T

Best thing to do is alternate your running ... Better to jog for a while sprint and then get back to a good pace for a while ..this realy helps your heart .. And get some good running shoes ..Make sure you get in some good stretching before and after and, drink plenty pf water ..

i just ran a mile in a grass field in my boots and long pants heh... 10:42

i had to stop to "power walk" about 4 times my stomach was cramping like mad... when i got back, i felt like i was going to pass out for about 10 minutes after... thats probably not a good sign?

guess i have alot of work to do...