Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Dark Steel Metalic
    98 T/A

Meathead advice is needed

I've been working out 3-5 times a week for the past 6-7 months. I watch what I eat and I finally managed to kick my Mountain Dew habit. I drink a Muscle Milk protein supplement immediately after I work out.

As I near the end of a set, muscles begin to burn. Not fatigue, just burn. I can stop for 5-10 seconds to allow the burn to dissipate then I can pick up the same amount of weight and get to the same point in the set before the burn returns. Several repetitions of this will fatigue the muscle I'm isolating, (obviously.) Am I correct in saying this burning sensation is lactic acid?

Here's my question.

I find myself limited by the mid-set burn. Like I said, I can stop for a few seconds, then pick the weight up again and continue as if I had just started. I get the same burn doing high-rep low weight or low-rep high weight sets.

Does anyone know of any secrets to keep the acid/burn at bay during a workout to help me maximize my efficiency during my workout?

Black
    02 SS #8719

Latic Acid yes.
    Potassium can help a little but nothing is going to get rid of it.
    Eat bananas.

Everything fiberglass
    2005 Amberlamps

Push through it. Lactic acid is what separates the winners from the losers.

Obsessed is the word the lazy use to describe the dedicated.

silver
    2002 ws6

push past it. pump is a great feeling.

Blackety Black
    35th Anniversary SS

Stretching before and after you lift can help get the lactic acid out or your muscles a little. Also cross training with some type of fast-paced aerobic work out can help.

Pewter
    2001 Camaro Z28 M6

get off the muscle mike, now

Muscle Milk is a dirty protein, does more damage then good...

I did a write up about, dirty vs clean protein its in AAG somewhere.

most proteins, such as brands like Muscle Milk are more marketing gimicks then anything.
    Reason being is most proteins contain high levels of:

-fat