White
    '10 ZR1

Question Help me choose a 'gator' for work

Well - the footprint at my workplace has grown, and it's going to grow some more. There is now a need to have another mode of transportation, other than my two feet

I'm leaning towards a ~500 - 600 cc Ranger, with a complete enclosure for winter. The unit has to have a box for hauling stuff around - I see that many are rated for ~400 lbs, which is good enough.

I'm not sure if I should even mess around with a diesel since there's a chance that it wouldn't be stored inside all the time.

Do any of you have any experience with gators, Rangers, Can-AMs, etc, etc? The budget is between 10K - 15K.

Arctic White, red/gray
    1997 Corvette, 92 Typhoon

Are you looking for 2 seats only? New only or are you interested in used? For 10-15 you can def buy new. But you can always get more used, either more options or accessories. Like a plow or snow thrower attachment etc.

I have some experience with ATVs.... not so much UTVs like you are referring to. But they use the same engines in a lot of models. The rotax engines Can Am uses are really good. Rotax makes engines for many vehicles for decades now. Jet skis, ultra lites, snowmobiles, ATVs etc. Like I said I'm not sure about UTVs but in ATVs the rotax engines generally have the most power per CC. My 2012 outlander 500cc makes 42hp(48hp for 2015), compared to the 2012 Honda foreman 500 which produces 30hp, 2012 Polaris sportsman 500 33hp, sportsman 500H.O. 38hp. The outlander 1000 is almost always #1 for power made by utility ATV.

Power aside I don't know too much about UTVs as I said. Can Ams will generally be more expensive than Polaris or Honda or even John Deere. The Can Am defender and Polaris Ranger have a payload of 1500lbs, so 500 aside for two riders that means 1,000lbs in the bed.
    Last edited by Zinergy; 03-22-2016 at 08:06 AM.

White
    '10 ZR1

That's good info Zin