Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Blog Entries

silver
    99 ws6

Found some jelliton stuff inside heads please advice

Found some jelliton stuff inside heads

I’ve been having misfires on a couple cylinders both even # on my 02 chevy express 1500 w/ the vortec 5.7.

I was hopping misfires could possiablley be caused my a leaking intake manifold gasket.

Van has been consuming radiator coolant occassionalley I observe white smoke out exhaust not every time.

When I removed the manifold found a load of jelly stuff inside heads ports.

There’s only a drop of oil on the dipstick so I can’t tell if coolant is in the oil so I will drain a little.

Main ? is could this manie gasket be all that’s wronge causeing the misfire.

I’m not a real mechanic just a Bolton Guy would I’d hate to put back on manifold w/ new gaskets then find out the head gasket or cracked head is the real problem.

drained a little oil first couple drops where green coolant guess the intake mannie gaskets didn't cause this?
    Thanks
    Last edited by qwik219d9; 02-18-2018 at 06:49 AM.

red
    95 Z28

Any problems bigger than the intake gaskets and the motor will likely need to be pulled apart. The Vortecs are notorious for leaking intake manifold gaskets. Clean everything out that you can get to, change the intake manifold gaskets, flush the oil a time or two, and flush the cooling system as well. If problems persist, you've got bigger issues from the mixing of oil and water, or potentially a crack somewhere.

98 Formula
    06 duramax

Doesn't sound good to me but without looking at it in person I can only guess. 5.0 is right....those manifold gaskets leak....all of them. That coolant gets like that when it's contaminated. If left long enough that shit will turn into a crayon consistency. You fan probably expect to be doing a heater core at some point too.