Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    BOOSTD

Beginner hand gun

So I will be turning 21 in a few months and I've been tossing arround the idea of getting a hand gun. I use to be a HUGE gun law proponent until a group of researchers concluded that gun laws had no effect on gun related crimes. Since then, Ive tried to be more open minded about guns and those who own them.

Anyhow, I might buy a hand gun for target practice and self defence. I was thinking of getting a Glock 9mm,beretta 9mm or something similar. I am a novice when it comes to types of hand guns so Im not familiar with the calabers and what each type (ammo and gun) is best for. Im mainly interested in a semi-auto hand gun. I would like to get a gun thats dependable, safe, good for target practice and self defence. Finally, I dont need a gun that will blow a hole through an engine block, just one that has good accuracy, reliability, and stopping power. I have experience with rifles and shotguns, so I do know how to handle a gun proporly and wont shoot myself in the foot *knock on wood*.

Any advice would be appreciated. Also, if you folks could point me in the direction of some informative websites, that would be great too.

Thanks,
    BOOSTD

2007 GMC Sierra Duramax

A few simple things.

Go to a range that lets you test fire pitsols, and find the one that you are most comfortable with. Stick with a qualtiy name brand, Glock, Sig, Colt, Kimber, H&K, ect..

Then choose the caliber based on the most powerful that you feel comfortable with.

If you have zero experience with hand guns or guns altogether, maybe take a safety course.

Also I would start with a revolver. They are cheaper, simpler, and less dangerous.

Maybe a .38.

Gray
    2012 Challenger R/T

when I was in the Marines we got to carry .45 . We went to the hand gun range a few times and I liked it very much. Small hole in BIG hole out.Lots of stoping power

BOOSTD
    Quote Originally Posted by BillyT