Results 1 to 8 of 8

Can a hand throttle be added/emulated on a DBW LQ9?

This is a discussion on Can a hand throttle be added/emulated on a DBW LQ9? within the LSx Retrofit and Swap forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; I just purchased a 1956 GMC 370 Low Cab Forward rollback wrecker that's currently sporting a 427 BBC and the ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    5

    Red
    1956 GMC 370 LCF Rollback

    Can a hand throttle be added/emulated on a DBW LQ9?

    I just purchased a 1956 GMC 370 Low Cab Forward rollback wrecker that's currently sporting a 427 BBC and the original 5 speed manual with PTO for the hydraulic pump. The rollback controls include a hand throttle that's used to increase the engine speed when using the hydraulics and that works fine with the carb. I'm looking into updating the drive train with an LQ9 and a built NV4500 to enhance the drivability and economy of the truck. I won't be using this commercially, but will need to be able to pick up a project wherever I find one. Since the LQ9 is drive by wire adding cruise control (one of my wants for long distance driving) is easy, but information about being able to control engine speed from the rollback has been impossible to find so far. Does anyone have any experience with something like this or pointers to information? Ideally, this could be done through the ECM with a simple toggle switch, but I'm also wondering if I could modify a second throttle pedal by cutting the pedal off, shortening the shaft and making a bracket or detent of some kind that would physically hold it in position for working the bed.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'd like to know before the truck gets here in a couple of weeks as I'm going to strip it down to clean up the frame and get the cab painted and swapping the engines would be much easier with the cab off.

    - Glenn

  2. #2
    Spaz is My Mentor SMWS6TA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Ugy Lower Corner of AL
    Posts
    10,472

    Navy Blue Metallic
    98 T/A w/a little mods...

    You can get a drive by cable setup for any LS engine and have a tuner remove or close the DBW software in the tune.


    It's a fairly common setup for engine swaps into older cars.
    http://www.ls1.com/forums/f7/my-6-liter-build-174257/

    http://www.ls1.com/forums/f8/my-8-8-rear-build-165553/

    6.0L Block - Forged 403 built, breaking it in , Polluter Stg3 Cam, FAST 102mm Intake, NW102 TB, MSD wires, NGK TR6 plugs, Truck Coil Packs, LS3 Fuel Injectors, CC Pacesetter LT Headers, TS&P ORY, QTP e-Cutout, Magnaflow Muffler, 104mm Air Lid & Line Lock, Catch Can, Stage 2 T56 w/Viper shaft, PRO 5.0 Shifter, Tick MC, Monster Stg 4 Clutch, QT SFI BH, MWC DSL, UMI: SFC, PHB, LCA's, LCA Relocation Brackets & TA, Hotchkis Springs (1" Drop), YR1 Snowflake Wheels wrapped in NT555 tires & Custom Fab Ford 8.8 rear w/4.10 Yukon Gears, WSQ Hood, 3"CM Strange Eng Drive Shaft.

    Horsepower never lies, but is often lied about!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    5

    Red
    1956 GMC 370 LCF Rollback

    If I can only have one or the other the cruise control will need to give way to the throttle control for the rollback. I find a number of aftermarket cruise control option for the dbw but haven't seen anything for the cable setup. All of my experience with the Gen III and IV engines has been with dbw. How was cruise implemented with the cable actuated throttle bodies?

    Quote Originally Posted by SMWS6TA View Post
    You can get a drive by cable setup for any LS engine and have a tuner remove or close the DBW software in the tune.


    It's a fairly common setup for engine swaps into older cars.

  4. #4
    Spaz is My Mentor SMWS6TA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Ugy Lower Corner of AL
    Posts
    10,472

    Navy Blue Metallic
    98 T/A w/a little mods...

    Here is how mine is setup.

    You can see on the throttle body to the right the 2 cables. The inner one is for the throttle and the black one is for cruise control.

    If the hydro controls are with cable also I think you could fab up a bracket that will let you control the throttle.


  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    5

    Red
    1956 GMC 370 LCF Rollback

    Thanks for the photo. It still looks like it may be an either/or situation since I don't think I could hook up 3 cables (throttle, cruise, hand throttle) like this. I'm still hoping to find an electrical solution to directly actuate the throttle body motor from the back of the truck. The suggestions and discussion are welcome and I appreciate the input.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,538

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    It seems that you would be able to easily tap into the voltage feed to the throttle body for a simulated throttle input. Assuming it operates on a 0 to 5 volt range (need to check this) you can create a switched output of the desired voltage by utilizing resistors between the switch at the back of the truck and the 12 volt source to the switch. There would be some variation with temperature, but it should raise the engine rpm to the desired level when the switch is activated. If there is concern about any back feeding of voltage to the pedal assembly then a diode can be installed to prevent this just prior to the"T" connection in the stock harness.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    5

    Red
    1956 GMC 370 LCF Rollback

    If I recall correctly, the pedal sends the TAC two signals, one going up from 0 to 5 volts the other going down from 5 to 0 volts. The TAC then does a comparison of those voltages as a form of error checking before sending its signal to the throttle body actuator. If one of the signals is lost or the two signals don't sum to 5 volts (within some acceptable deviation) the TAC knows that something's wrong. That way you don't suddenly find yourself at WOT when trying to back out of the driveway. I think you're on the right track about using some kind of voltage divider - maybe zener diodes rather than resistors - to send the necessary voltage levels to the TAC to get the engine up to a high idle. There would definitely need to be some of allowing only one source to supply signals or the TAC would get all kinds of confused. I'll look into that. Thanks!

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,538

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    You are correct -- there are two voltage inputs. I had not finished reading up on it last night when I posted. Have someone hold the throttle at the rpm you desire and measure the voltage at each input with a DVOM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. New T/A added to our Family
    By fbodyNATION in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-30-2012, 06:21 PM
  2. just added 8lbs. to the Z06....
    By M6HUGGERSS in forum Corvette
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-23-2007, 03:57 PM
  3. Added my Website
    By Fugiero in forum Member's Rides
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-24-2006, 05:41 PM
  4. PE Added = No Effect
    By Ed Blown Vert in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-21-2005, 02:24 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •