Black
    2002 WS6

Why pull timing?

I'm new to nitrous and trying to understand. As some of you know, I'm about to spray a measly 125 wet shot on my 400hp NA car. I'm using a standalone. If I get the A/f between 11.5-12 with the race fuel, what's the purpose of pulling some timing. I've heard 2 per 50hp= 5 degrees.

Black
    2002 WS6

33 peeks, no responses. Does anyone understand this stuff?

black
    2014 camaro 2ss/rs

not that much timing. on a stock timing table, i've run a 150 wet shot with no timing pulled. years ago i got a rule of thmb from NOS to pull 1* per 50hp and the first 50hp doesn't count.
    Cold Air Intake, Muffler Delete, Vinci High Performance Dual Valve Springs, Hardened Pushrods, Yella Terra 1.85 Rockers, Some Hydropdipped Stuff, Strut Tower Brace, Some SS Badges, boost/vacuum gauge, fuel pressure gauge, some checkered stripes, drilled/slotted rotors, ZL1addons Stealth wickerbill, Ruxifey LED side markers

White
    1998 Trans Am

I'm 26.5 with a 150 dry shot. No knock... I've bumped it up to 28, but didn't gain ET, so I went back down.

Pewter
    2001 TA

Using a standalone with race gas with a 125 shot, I don't see why you would have to pull timing. Do you have a way to monitor KR(knock retard) on a run?

Black
    2002 WS6

I can put it on a dyno. for a few runs. With HP tuners plugged. It should pick up knock retard, right? After the install I'd planned to do a few runs on the dyno to dial in my a/f ratio anyway. Then, the plan was to always spray the same shot.

teal
    94 z28

The reason to pull timing while spraying nitrous is with the increased cylinder pressure you don't need to ignite the fuel as early. If you did not pull timing and the ecm did not register knock and pull it for you, it can easily hurt performance from preignition.