Results 1 to 7 of 7

Running wires through the firewall?

This is a discussion on Running wires through the firewall? within the Nitrous forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Hey all- I'm looking for the best place to run a handful of wires through the firewall. Suggestions? Nitrous goes ...

  1. #1
    Just another Joe Eagle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NW Chitown
    Posts
    757

    Pewter
    2002 WS6

    Running wires through the firewall?

    Hey all-

    I'm looking for the best place to run a handful of wires through the firewall. Suggestions? Nitrous goes in this weekend, need to get 5 wires thru and maybe the main feed line too.

    I've heard behind / under the ECM but have no idea if I need to pull the harnesses off or what all needs to be done.

    Thanks all!

    -Eagle

  2. #2
    Senior Member mrr23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    orlando, fl
    Posts
    7,134

    dark bowling green
    2000 corvette

    pull the PCM out of the car. you'll see a rubber boot where the harness goes through. run your wires through there. also, i ran my nitrous line through there as well. kept the main line inside the car along the door sill and kick panel.

  3. #3
    Just another Joe Eagle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NW Chitown
    Posts
    757

    Pewter
    2002 WS6

    Damn, I thought you were going to say that. OK, cool. Thanks for the confirmation! mrr23, you rule man!

    -Eagle

  4. #4
    Member TwistedSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Irmo, SC
    Posts
    214

    Arctic White
    2001 Camaro SS

    I'm still NOT a fan of running nitrous lines inside of the car...mine follows the fuel lines from the hatch to the hood, and where its near the exhaust is covered with some heater hose. My wires come through a drilled hole in the firewall that I made, but I have ran wires through the same grommet that the hood release cable goes through. Grab a coat hanger and shove it through, should go fairly easy.

  5. #5
    Just another Joe Eagle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NW Chitown
    Posts
    757

    Pewter
    2002 WS6

    Thx man, appreciate the 411.

  6. #6
    Just another Joe Eagle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NW Chitown
    Posts
    757

    Pewter
    2002 WS6

    Sure enough, I pulled out the ECM and its little plastic carriage after I removed the two large electrical connections and right below that there was a rubber grommet just waiting to be used for all my nitrous wires!

    The install went pretty easy. I'll post up some of the pics I took of the install later.

  7. #7
    Senior Member mrr23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    orlando, fl
    Posts
    7,134

    dark bowling green
    2000 corvette

    good deal.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Running wires through the firewall
    By pajeff02 in forum General Help
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-31-2011, 07:42 PM
  2. Firewall Help
    By legacyy21 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-05-2010, 11:41 AM
  3. hole in driver side firewall for wires?
    By qwik219d9 in forum General Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-24-2009, 12:40 AM
  4. Running the amp power wire through the firewall...
    By p_funk22 in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 10-14-2007, 11:52 AM
  5. How many are running Nology Plugs or Wires?
    By HiLL99SS in forum General Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-05-2005, 03:17 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •