Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    1999 Formula

Gone lean overnight, wtf

I monitor air/fuel ratio and fuel pressure, overnight my nos kit that i had dialed in during the winter months at 12:1 stoich, has jumped to 16:1. I checked fuel solenoid, functions well with no clogged jets. No changes to fuel pressure from my winter dial in. Did the refiners increase the ethanol content of the fuel, or what? Local gas pump claims to be up to E10. On motor there has been no change to the stoich. This is my first change of seasons since the monitoring began so maybe a veteran can share some insight.
    Last edited by LS1 Formula; 06-16-2013 at 09:20 AM.

Red, Black
    98 T/A M6, 79 T/A 6.6L

I'm by no means an expert on the matter but the difference in air density between winter and summer might be big enough for that change. Also does your area have a summer fuel mixture? Maybe both are contributing factors.

1999 Formula

I think my area does due to the pollution problems we have each summer. I'm pretty sure my state is after that fed money but i will need to due some research to verify. I know that may/june are usually the months to switch to these summer blends. As far as the density of air, i would think the stoich would go the other way in this scenario but i too am no expert. thanks for the response. Either way its time to dial in the kit again but it caught me by surprise and was wondering if this is typical for changing seasons.

It's time for summer blend gas, and I notice changes in AFR with it. I also see changes in AFR from one pump to the next because ethanol isn't consistent from one station to the next.