YOW Pookie's gone postal! Motrv8d Steve's Avatar

Black
    1998 Camaro Z28

Question 98 Z28: does this sound like an ignition switch problem?

This ever happen to you?

About a couple of weeks ago, I got in my 98 Z to go home from the office, and turned the key and got nothing but the usual dashboard light show, with all my warning lights coming on, but no cranking of the starter. I popped the hood, all my cables were connected fine, but I'm NOT a mechanic so I have no clue.

I tried and tried and tried to get it to turn over but nothing. The lights seemed to be working, the power windows worked fine so I don't think the battery or alternator is having a problem. I closed the hood, got back in and after several more tries, suddenly the engine fired to life and the car ran fine.

So after about a couple of weeks of it starting and running okay, the same thing happened to me last night and now this morning, again, no starty... but what's weird is that after trying to turn it over and all the dash warning lights come on, when I turn the ignition key off, the "SECURITY" light is staying on for a short time.

I'm taking the car in this morning to get it fixed but does anybody have a clue what's going on here? I'm guessing that it's time to replace either the ignition switch or the starter, or maybe even the battery or alternator?

Your replies are greatly appreciated!
    Steve
    1998 Black Z28 Pro 5.0 shifter, Borla Catback, DirectFlo Lid, !CAGS

pet_monk
    K you check cables but which ones... with all the accessories coming on... i would check the power and ground for the starter... especially if the starter doesn't even click.... even a starter with a dead spot should click when it is trying to turn over... i can't think of anything else on that

05 Wrangler
    00 Z28 sold :-(