Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Black/Black
    2000 Trans Am WS6 A4

Rebuild LS1, or drop in LS2/LS6?

This last oil change, metal pieces were found on my magnetic drain plug. My LS1 has 133k on it. It feels strong, but I know it's going to blow soon.

Should I rebuild the motor, or just drop in an LS2 or LS6? I have seen several offers of LS2s/LS6s for about $2500 with everything I would need. I think there was one on this site for $2500 with only 15k on the motor...

Does the LS2/LS6 fit right in place of the LS1? Can I use my stock computer, and just use LS1edit to modify the programming?

I really want the 400hp, and I want decent gas mileage... That's why I'm weary of building up an LS1 to achieve the same results... To get an LS1 up to 400hp, wouldn't I be looking at gas mileage in the lower teens?

SILVER
    2004 CTS-V

What kind of metal pieces?

Black/Black
    2000 Trans Am WS6 A4

It looked like part of a bearing.. possibly the outer race... I'm no expert when it comes to that, but it was a little smaller than the fingernail on my pinky, and slightly thinner as well...

Le Mans Blue
    2004 Z16

Build your LS1 or trade it as a core on a forged 347, 383, 408 etc...
    There is no advantage other than PCV and block windage going to a LS6 and the LS2 will reqiure some slight changes (like knock sensors) to make it work.
    My LSx 383 still gets around 24mpg highway, but I don't have a good average for city driving. I tend to drop the hammer a lot from stops...

Black/Black
    2000 Trans Am WS6 A4

So it would be smarter to have mine rebuilt, get some better heads, and an LS6 intake perhaps?

I was under the impression that the LS2/LS6 would fit right in... I heard you could even use the stock computer... but that's why I'm asking here!

Silver
    05 Goat SMASHED

THERE IS NO SUBSITUTE FOR DISPLACEMENT!!!

My biggest ? is whats your budget....?
    Don't be afraid of the bottle!!! Be afraid of your tune!!!

Le Mans Blue
    2004 Z16