Pewter
    01 Camaro LS1

'01 Camaro - Mod Help

I've never worked on my car or any car before but am looking to start. Im looking for something I would be able to do that would not cost too much money (500-600 dollars). I just completed my junior year as a Mechanical engineer so I do have general knowledge to help me out. One of my friends suggested that an easy and relatively cheap way to add horsepower would be to do a cam swap, so thats where im looking at the moment. My car is a 2001 Camaro with about 65000 miles. Im open for any tips to help me out with what im trying to do, or even alternative suggestions besides a cam swap. Thanks!

Black
    2000 Z-28

If you car is bone stock I'd start w/ some intake and exhaust modifications before you start doing internal motor work. Is your car an auto or manual? What are your goals for the car? I see this is your first post so welcome to the site!

My Neighbors Hate Me!!! lvbroham1's Avatar

Artic White
    2001 Chevy Camaro SS

Quote Originally Posted by hewjas00 View Post
    I've never worked on my car or any car before but am looking to start. Im looking for something I would be able to do that would not cost too much money (500-600 dollars). I just completed my junior year as a Mechanical engineer so I do have general knowledge to help me out. One of my friends suggested that an easy and relatively cheap way to add horsepower would be to do a cam swap, so thats where im looking at the moment. My car is a 2001 Camaro with about 65000 miles. Im open for any tips to help me out with what im trying to do, or even alternative suggestions besides a cam swap. Thanks!