Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Navy Blue Metallic
    '00 Formy A4

Thinking of buying GTO, some questions..

Hey everyone,
    This is my first time posting on this board, at least under this username. I lost my old login years ago.

Anyway, I'm thinking of picking up a GTO, and I have a few questions.

First, are there any major issues with '04's? I know alot of the times there are a lot of bugs in a car during it's first model year. Any of these that I should be aware of?

Oh, and I'm looking used, btw. Probably an '04 or '05. I've been looking and I'm seeing quite a few of them with less then 30k miles in the 18-20k range.

20k is about my max for a car these days, and I know dollar for dollar I won't find a faster car.

Besides the lack of the LS2, are there any other downfalls to the earlier cars? I'd love the 400hp, but then again, 345 ain't too shabby. My 98Formy had 40 less, and that car was a rocket. So I think I can deal with "only" 345hp.

How's the reliability? Any major issues?

This would be a daily driver for me, I drive 60 miles round trip to work. Are these cars good for commuting? With an auto, could I get at least 23 or 24mpg with a light foot, mostly highway? This doesn't seem unreasonable, my M6 Formy got 28 on the highway.

And lastly, could I get away with using 89 (for commuting), or do they require premium fuel?

Thanks alot, I really appreciate any input.

edit: Just did some research. Turns out the '04 is 350hp, not 345, and the LS2 came out in '05. Sweet, maybe I CAN get into a LS2 then.
    Last edited by StuntmanMike; 04-28-2007 at 02:49 PM.

Impulse Blue
    2006 Pontiac G.T.O.

There was some front strut problems, But I'm sure if you buy a used one it'll be already taken care of, go for the LS-2 goat, the goat is about 300 lbs heavier than your formula so with the LS-1 it runs like low 14s, high 13s, but other than that I don't think there were any real reliability issues, also I get 23-25MPG
    on the highway, it's an M-6 though.